USL 2016 conferences alignment

USL announces conference alignment, schedule format for 2016

The United Soccer League announced its alignment and regular-season and playoff formats for the 2016 season on Wednesday.

Six new expansion teams will join the league in 2016, bringing the USL field to 29 teams: Bethlehem Steel FC, FC Cincinnati, Orlando City B, Rio Grande Valley FC, Swope Park Rangers and San Antonio. Helping USL’s rapid expansion has been an landmark developmental partnership that allows MLS franchises to choose to either field a reserve team in USL or partner with an existing franchise.

The USL will continue in a two-conference format: 14 teams in the Eastern Conference and 15 teams in the Western Conference. The 30-game regular season will run 27 weeks, kicking off on March 25 and finishing on Sept. 25.

Here is the conference breakdown:

Eastern Conference

Bethlehem Steel FC
Charleston Battery
Charlotte Independence
FC Cincinnati
Harrisburg City Islanders
Louisville City FC
FC Montreal
New York Red Bulls II
Orlando City B
Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Richmond Kickers
Rochester Rhinos
Toronto FC II
Wilmington Hammerheads FC


Western Conference

Arizona United SC
Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
LA Galaxy II
OKC Energy FC
Orange County Blues FC
Portland Timbers 2
Real Monarch SLC
Rio Grande Valley FC
Sacramento Republic FC
Saint Louis FC
San Antonio
Seattle Sounders FC 2
Swope Park Rangers
Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2