Clint Dempsey celebrates (June 22, 2014)
Action Images

Gold Cup: Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey, Jozy Altidore lead MLS-heavy provisional USMNT roster

The US men's national team roster for the upcoming CONCACAF Gold Cup was announced Wednesday on FOX Sports 1 during pregame coverage of the Germany-US friendly. Head coach Jurgen Klinsmann named 35 players, including 19 from MLS as well as current Sounders Academy product Jordan Morris.

The biggest surprise was likely the return of left back DaMarcus Beasley of the Houston Dynamo, who announced after last year's World Cup that he was retiring from international play. Another surprise was Galaxy striker Alan Gordon, who played such a crucial role in qualifying for last cycle's CONCACAF Hexagonal.

Surprise omissions were Stoke City defender Geoff Cameron, who's been a regular under Klinsmann at several spots, and Erzgebirge Aue striker Bobby Wood, who scored his first USMNT goal in last week's 4-3 win over the Netherlands. Also mysteriously absent is defensive midfielder Danny Williams, who - like Wood - scored his first USMNT goal last week.

Teams can make up to six changes to the final roster following the group stage of the tournament, but can only add players from the provisional roster, which rules about the above trio as well as injured Revolution midfielder Jermaine Jones and U-20 stars Rubio Rubin, Gedion Zelalem and Emerson Hyndman.

The full USMNT roster:

GOALKEEPERS (4): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon), Bill Hamid (D.C. United)

DEFENDERS (12): John Brooks (Hertha BSC), Ventura Alvarado (Club America), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Matt Besler (Sporting KC), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur), Timothy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brek Shea (Orlando City), Michael Orozco (Puebla), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Tim Ream (Bolton), Greg Garza (Club Tijuana)

MIDFIELDERS (12): Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt 04), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Jordan Morris (Stanford), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes),