Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls) wins a header over Juninho (LA Galaxy)
USA Today Sports

The New York Red Bulls are the 12th team to start the season unbeaten in six -- here's how the others fared

Few were predicting playoffs for the 2015 New York Red Bulls, let alone being the last undefeated team in MLS eight weeks into the season.

And by starting the year unbeaten at 3-0-3, RBNY have put themselves in historically good company.

According to the Elias Sports Bureau, the official statistician of Major League Soccer, the Red Bulls' 3-0-3 start to the 2015 campaign is just the 12th time in the league's 20-year history that a team has started the season with an unbeaten streak of at least six games.

Of the previous 11 teams to get out to this fast a start, all 11 qualified for the postseason. What's more, 10 of those 11 finished either first or second in their conference or division, and six either won the Supporters' Shield or made it to the MLS Cup final.

So as the Red Bulls try to extend that unbeaten streak to seven on Wednesday night against the Colorado Rapids (7:30 pm ET, MLS LIVE, match preview), their supporters have good reason to be confident.

But the league record for an unbeaten streak to start a season remains a long way off. Equaling the 12-game runs enjoyed by the 1996 and 2010 LA Galaxy, the 2000 Kansas City Wizards and Real Salt Lake in 2012 would require New York to hold serve at home and then earn at least a tie in upcoming road games at three 2014 playoff teams: New England, Dallas and Seattle.

Longest Unbeaten Starts in MLS history
Elias Sports Bureau




1st Loss

Final W-L-T

Final place

LA Galaxy
(12 matches)
1996 12-0
COL 19-13 West-1 MLS Cup finalists
Kansas City Wizards
(12 matches)
2000 10-0-2 CHI 16-7-9 Cent-1 MLS Cup Champions
Supporters' Shield
LA Galaxy
(12 matches)
2010 10-0-2 RSL 18-7-5 West-1 Conf. Semifinals
Supporters' Shield
Real Salt Lake
(12 matches)
2012 6-0-6 SEA 15-8-11 West-3 Conf. Semifinals
N.E. Revolution
(11 matches)
2005 7-0-4 DC 17-7-8 East-1 MLS Cup finalists
LA Galaxy
(11 matches)
2000 6-0-5 NE 14-10-8 West-2 Conf. Final
Chicago Fire
(11 matches)
2009 5-0-6 DAL 11-7-12 East-2 Conf. Final
LA Galaxy
(9 matches)
1998 9-0
CHI 24-8 West-1 Conf. Final
Supporters' Shield
Columbus Crew
(8 matches)
2010 6-0-2 LA 14-8-8 East-2 Conf. Semifinals
Sporting Kansas City
(7 matches)
2012 7-0 POR 18-7-9 East-1 Conf. Semifinals
San Jose Earthquakes
(6 matches)
2003 4-0-2 CHI 14-7-9 West-1 MLS Cup Champion
New York Red Bulls
(6 matches)
2015 3-0-3 ??? ??-??-?? ??? ???