World Cup: USMNT wins ESPY award for Best Moment following victory over Ghana | SIDELINE

The US national team won many moral plaudits and accolades during their 2014 World Cup run that saw Jurgen Klinsmann's side reach the Round of 16.

Americans across the United States were gripped not only by the patriotism and drama, but the matches and the sport itself.

What the USMNT didn't get to do, however, was to lift a trophy or celebrate their Round of 16 status like champions. Because, well, it's the Round of 16 and they didn't actually win anything. 

That changed on Wednesday night, though, when the USMNT — represented by captain Clint Dempsey and teammates Jermaine Jones, DaMarcus Beasley, DeAndre Yedlin, Chris Wondolowski, Nick Rimando, Kyle Beckerman and Jozy Altidore — won the ESPY award for Best Moment following the team's late 2-1 victory over Ghana in the group stage opener.

And the players in attendance, well, let's just say that they enjoyed the spotlight and magnitude of the whole event.