US Under-20 national team coach Tab Ramos during the CONCACAF U-20 Championship

Tab Ramos names seven MLS youngsters to US U-20 national team for NTC tournament in California

US U-20 national team head coach Tab Ramos named seven MLS players to his 20-player roster for the 2014 National Training Center Invitational Tournament, which kicks off next week in Carson, California.

The Philadelphia Union lead the way with forward Zach Pfeffer and goalkeeper Zack Steffen, an academy product currently attending the University of Maryland. Other active MLS players include New York Red Bulls reserve goalkeeper Santiago Castano, LA Galaxy prospect Bradford Jamieson (playing with LA Galaxy II), Chivas USA midfielder Marky Delgado and Real Salt Lake's Benji Lopez, currently on loan at USL PRO side Arizona United. The other player from an MLS academy is defender Shaquell Moore from FC Dallas.

The U-20s are reporting for training camp today ahead of their tournament opener against Chile on Monday, to be followed by a meeting with Bermuda on Wednesday. Both of those matches kick off at 7 pm ET.

The US conclude tournament play against Australia on July 18, a match that will be broadcast on at 10 pm ET. Prior to that match, will also broadcast the Bermuda-Chile clash at 7 pm ET. 

Ramos' latest squad carries plenty of international experience, with 11 members having earned 10 or more youth national team call-ups – and six of those 11 in possession of more than 20. Eight players hail from overseas clubs, including four from Mexican sides, three of them hailing from Club Tijuana.

NTC Invitational Tournament Schedule
Date Time (ET) Game Field Broadcast
July 14 4 pm Australia vs. Bermuda Mooch Myernick Field none
July 14 7 pm United States vs. Chile Mooch Myernick Field none
July 16 4 pm Australia vs. Chile Mooch Myernick Field none
July 16 7 pm United States vs. Bermuda Mooch Myernick Field none
July 18 4 pm Bermuda vs. Chile StubHub Center
July 18 7 pm United States vs. Australia StubHub Center

Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Santiago Castano (New York Red Bulls; Union City, N.J.), Zack Steffen (Maryland; Downington, Pa.)

DEFENDERS (7): Michael Amick (UCLA; Sunnyvale, Calif.), Conor Donovan (Carolina RailHawks Academy; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Chris Odoi-Atsem (Maryland; Mitchellville, Md.), Shaquell Moore (FC Dallas Academy; Powder Springs, Ga.), John Requejo Jr. (Club Tijuana; Carpinteria, Calif.), Caleb Smith (Solar Chelsea SC; Arlington, Texas), Jesus Vasquez (UANL Tigres; San Luis Obispo, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Fernando Arce (Club Tijuana; Chula Vista, Calif.), Russell Canouse (TSG  Hoffenheim; Lancaster, Pa.), Marco Delgado (Chivas USA; Glendora, Calif.), Romain Gall (Lorient; Herndon, Va.), Lynden Gooch (Sunderland; Santa Cruz, Calif.), Jacori Hayes (Wake Forest; Bowie, Md.)

FORWARDS (5): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana; Chula Vista, Calif.), Bradford Jamieson (LA Galaxy II; Los Angeles, Calif.), Benji Lopez (Arizona United SC; San Diego, Calif.), Andrija Novakovich (Reading; Muskego, Wis.), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union; Dresher, Pa.)