US Under-17 national team and LA Galaxy Academy striker Haji Wright

US Under-17 head coach Richie Williams calls up 20 players for upcoming Aegean Cup in Turkey

Twenty players have been summoned by US Under-17 national team head coach Richie Williams for the upcoming Aegean Cup in Turkey, U.S. Soccer announced on Wednesday, and a handful of them play for MLS Academy sides.

Hugo Arellano (Chivas USA), Carlos Avilez (FC Dallas), Matthew Olosunde (New York Red Bulls) and Haji Wright (LA Galaxy) have all been included in the roster that will compete in the Aegean Cup in Manisa, Turkey, from Jan. 20-25. Those players and 14 others have ties to the U.S. Soccer Development Academy, and a total of 15 are currently registered with Academy teams.

The US -- who most recently won the Nike International Friendlies in Lakewood Ranch, Fla. -- have been drawn into Group B with Norway, Scotland and reigning champion France. The Americans begin the tournament with a match against Les Bleus on Jan. 20 before facing Norway a day later and Scotland on Jan. 23.

Group A consists of Turkey, Azerbaijan, Greece and Ukraine. The two group winners will pay in the championship match on Jan. 25 while the two group runners-up will face off in a third-place game.

Here is the full US roster:

Goalkeepers (2): Carlos Avilez (FC Dallas Academy; Dallas), Will Pulisic (Richmond Strikers; Mechanicsville, Va.)

Defenders (6): Hugo Arellano (Chivas USA Academy; Norwalk, Calif.), Tanner Dieterich (unattached, Nashville, Tenn.), Edwin Lara (unattached; San Leandro, Calif.), John Nelson (Internationals; Medina, Ohio), Matthew Olosunde (New York Red Bulls Academy; Trenton, N.J.), Alexis Velela (San Diego Surf; San Diego)

Midfielders (7): Eric Calvillo (Real So Cal; Palmdale, Calif.), Luca de la Torre (Fulham; San Diego), Thomas McCabe (PDA; South Orange, N.J.), Logan Panchot (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri; St. Louis), Christian Pulisic (PA Classics; Hershey, Pa.), Nicholas Taitague (Richmond Strikers; Midlothian, Va.), Devin Vega (San Antonio Scorpions; San Antonio)

Forwards (5): Pierre Da Silva (New York Soccer Club; Port Chester, N.Y.), Orrin McKinze Gaines (Lonestar SC; Austin, Texas), Joe Gallardo (Monterrey FC; San Diego) Elijah Rice (Chicago Magic PSG; Highland Park, Ill.), Haji Wright (LA Galaxy Academy; Los Angeles)


Stay connected: The official MLS app keeps you connected with the latest news, highlights, scores, standings, and analysis all for FREE. Download for iOS (Apple) or Download for Android