The US U-17s celebrate Corey Baird's goal vs. Guatemala

4 MLS academy players, Schellas Hyndman's grandson named to US U-18 roster for France trip

Four MLS youth academy players have been selected to Javier Perez’s US Under-18 national team roster for a four-team international tournament next week in Limoges, France, U.S. Soccer announced on Wednesday.

Corey Baird (Real Salt Lake AZ), J.T. Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City) and Ben Swanson (Crew Soccer Academy) were named to the 18-man roster for the week-long tournament that will take place Oct. 6-14, where the US will face U-18 teams from the Czech Republic, France and Poland.

Also selected for the team was Emerson Hyndman, the grandson of FC Dallas head coach Schellas Hyndman, who plays in Fulham FC’s academy.

The US held a week-long, 36-player training camp at U.S. Soccer’s National Training Center in Carson, Calif., from Sept. 22-29 to prepare for the tournament. The 18 players selected from the camp depart Sunday for Paris.

The team begins play Wednesday against France before facing the Czech Republic on Oct. 11. The US wrap up tournament play on Oct. 13 against Poland.

All matches will take place at Parc Municipal des Sports de Beaublanc in Limoges.

Of the 18 players traveling to France, 15 currently play for development academy teams. Three players, Hyndman, Rubio Rubin (FC Utrecht) and Kyle Scott (Chelsea FC) play for European-based clubs.

It will be the first tournament for the current cycle of players who will prepare for the 2015 CONCACAF Championship.

US U-18 national team roster

GOALKEEPERS (2) : Jeff Caldwell (NC Fusion; Todd, N.C.), J.T. Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes; Alamo, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (5): Conor Donovan (Capital Area RailHawks Academy; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Chase Gasper (Bethesda Olney; Alexandria, Va.), Shaquell Moore (IMG Academy; Powder Springs, Ga.), Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting KC; Lee’s Summit, Mo.), Tommy Redding (Chicago Magic; Oviedo, Fla.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Mukwelle Akale (Minnesota Thunder; Minneapolis), Corey Baird (Real Salt Lake AZ; Escondido, Calif.), Emerson Hyndman (Fulham FC; Plano, Texas), Kyle Scott (Chelsea FC; Winterbourne, England), Ben Swanson (Crew Soccer Academy; Grove City, Ohio), Tyler Turner (IMG Academy; Meriden, Conn.)

FORWARDS (5): Andrija Novakovich (Chicago Magic PSG; Muskego, Wisc.), Rubio Rubin (FC Utrecht; Beaverton, Ore.), Ahinga Selemani (CSA Wolves; Ann Arbor, Mich.), Alan Winn (Solar Chelsea SC; Garland, Texas), Dembakwi Yomba (Concorde Fire; Lithona, Ga.)


Stay connected: The official MLS app keeps you connected with the latest news, highlights, scores, standings, and analysis all for FREE. Download for iOS (Apple) or Download for Android