Monterrey's Humberto Suazo embraces the CONCACAF Champions League trophy.
Getty Images

CCL: 24-team field nearly set for upcoming 2013-14 tournament, draw scheduled for June 3

The field is nearly set for the 2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League, and with it the latest opportunity for MLS sides to topple Mexico's dominance in the competition.

In a statement released Thursday, CONCACAF announced the roster of teams participating and the timeline for the official draw, which will take place Monday, June 3, in Miami.

Costa Rica has three entrants in this tournament, with Cartaginés joining Herediano and Alajuelense after CONCACAF confirmed that the potential entrant from Belize failed to comply with standards for stadiums hosting CCL games.

Additionally, the second entrant from Guatemala is not yet determined, because the domestic 2013 Clausura tournament is yet to conclude.

The teams participating in the 2013-14 CCL will be:

CANADA (1): Montreal Impact

UNITED STATES (4): Houston Dynamo, LA Galaxy, San Jose Earthquakes, Sporting Kansas City

MEXICO (4): Club América, Cruz Azul, Club Tijuana, Toluca

COSTA RICA (3): CS Cartaginés, Herediano, Alajuelense

EL SALVADOR (2): Isidro Metapán, Luis Ángel Firpo

GUATEMALA (2): Comunicaciones, TBD

HONDURAS (2): Olimpia, Victoria

PANAMA (2): Árabe Unido, San Miguelito

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (2) : W Connection, Caledonia AIA

NICARAGUA (1): Real Estelí

HAITI (1): Valencia

Stay connected: The all-new, completely redesigned, FREE official MLS app is your best mobile source for scores, news, analysis and highlights. Download:  App Store  |  Google Play