Ryan Johnson with Jamaica
Getty Images

49 MLS players called up for FIFA international dates

You've already seen the Canadian and US national team rosters for the two World Cup qualilfying games coming up. But as usual, that represents a fraction – just less than one-third, as a matter of fact – of the total MLSers who'll be in action over the next two FIFA dates.

Forty-nine MLS players were called in all, spread across 17 countries representing CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, Europe, Asia and Oceania. Canada and Jamaica lead the way with nine each, followed by six Hondurans and five Americans.

The Catrachos’ list includes Olympic heroes Jerry Bengtson (New England), Roger Espinoza (Sporting KC) and Mario Martínez (Seattle Sounders), though D.C. United flanker Andy Najar has once again been allowed to stay with his club. Heading up the Reggae Boyz contingent is Vancouver attacking duo Darren Mattocks and Dane Richards, as well as Toronto FC forward Ryan Johnson and Houston Dynamo defender Jermaine Taylor.


F - Hamdi Salihi (D.C. United)
M - Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls)
D - Andre Hainault (Houston Dynamo)
D - Dejan Jakovic (D.C. United)
D - Ante Javic (Chivas USA)
D - Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC)
M - Patrice Bernier (Montreal Impact)
M - Julian de Guzman (FC Dallas)
M - Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)
M - Terry Dunfield (Toronto FC)
M - Will Johnson (Real Salt Lake)
D - Carlos Valdés (Philadelphia Union)
Costa Rica
D - Roy Miller (New York Red Bulls)
D - Rodney Wallace (Portland Timbers)
F - Álvaro Saborío (Real Salt Lake)
M - Oswaldo Minda (Chivas USA)
El Salvador
D - Steve Purdy (Portland Timbers)
M - Joel Lindpere (New York Red Bulls)
M - Peterson Joseph (Sporting KC)
D - Víctor Bernárdez (San Jose Earthquakes)
M - Marvin Chávez (San Jose Earthquakes)
M - Roger Espinoza (Sporting Kansas City)
M - Boniek García (Houston Dynamo)
M - Mario Martínez (Seattle Sounders FC)
F - Jerry Bengtson (New England Revolution)
D - Darren O’Dea (Toronto FC)
F - Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy)
D - Lovel Palmer (Portland Timbers)
D - Jermaine Taylor (Houston Dynamo)
D - Shavar Thomas (Montreal Impact)
D - Dicoy Williams (Toronto FC)
M - Je-Vaughn Watson (Houston Dynamo)
F - Omar Cummings (Colorado Rapids)
F - Ryan Johnson (Toronto FC)
F - Darren Mattocks (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
F - Dane Richards (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
F - Etienne Barbara (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
New Zealand
M/D - Dan Keat (LA Galaxy)
D - Carlos Rodríguez (FC Dallas)
M - Gabriel Gómez (Philadelphia Union)
F - Blas Pérez (FC Dallas)
F - Kenny Miller (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
Sierra Leone
F - Kei Kamara (Sporting KC)
D - Adam Johansson (Seattle Sounders FC)
United States
GK - Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire)
GK - Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
M - Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake)
M - Brek Shea (FC Dallas)
M - Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)