World Cup: Jurgen Klinsmann announces US national team 23-man roster; Landon Donovan misses cut

Jurgen Klinsmann didn't wait around until June 2.

On Thursday, the US national team manager announced his final 23-man roster for the 2014 World Cup, well ahead of the FIFA deadline, and it does not include the USMNT's all-time leading scorer, Landon Donovan. 

The list features 10 MLS players, including MLS Designated Players Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy) and Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes).

Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana /Mexico), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna /Austria) and Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), who was aiming for his fourth straight World Cup, did not make the cut.

Julian Green, the 18-year-old Bayern Munich reserve player who only earned his first cap with the USA in an April friendly against Mexico, was a surprise inclusion in the final 23.

Seattle Sounders 20-year-old right back DeAndre Yedlin beat out his club teammate Evans, who started several matches at the right back position during World Cup qualifying.

On Monday, May 12 Klinsmann called up 30 players for a camp being held on the campus of Stanford University. But as recently as Wednesday Klinsmann indicated that he didn't "have a specific date in mind" for making the seven cuts.

The USA face Azerbaijan on Tuesday, May 27 (10 pm ET, ESPN2), in the first of three warm-up exhibition matches ahead of the World Cup. Many observers expected Klinsmann to wait until at least one or two of those matches were played before naming his final squad.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/England), Tim Howard (Everton/England), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla/Mexico), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/Germany), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/England), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg/Germany), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim/Germany), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/France), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg/Norway), Julian Green (Bayern Munich/Germany), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas/Turkey), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland/England), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar/Netherlands), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)