LA Galaxy preseason goal celebration vs. San Diego Loyal

Major League Soccer sides made it 4-for-4 in preseason matchups against USL Championship squads Saturday with Houston Dynamo FC, FC Dallas, LA Galaxy and Nashville SC each securing victories.

The Dynamo defeated Austin Bold FC, FC Dallas knocked off OKC Energy FC, the Galaxy prevailed on aggregate over Landon Donovan’s San Diego Loyal and Nashville SC made short work of Louisville City FC.

Here's the full rundown of how all four teams fared in Saturday's action:

Houston Dynamo FC 2, Austin Bold FC 0

Christian Ramirez and Ariel Lassiter struck for Houston Dynamo FC in the club’s preseason opener against Austin Bold FC Saturday at BBVA Stadium. The match was split into three 30-minute periods.

Ramirez opened the scoring in the 13th minute of the third period on a sequence starting with Darwin Quintero finding Lassiter, who connected with Ramirez on a first-touch pass.

Lassiter then doubled the lead six minutes later, heading a Quintero corner kick into the net.


  • 73’ — HOU — Christian Ramirez
  • 79’ — HOU — Ariel Lassiter


No lineup information was provided for this scrimmage

FC Dallas 4, OKC Energy 0

Ricardo Pepi struck for a brace and newcomers Freddy Vargas and Kalil ElMedkhar struck for one goal apiece to lead FC Dallas to a 4-0 win over OKC Energy at Toyota Soccer Center Saturday. The match was split into three 30-minute periods.

Vargas opened the scoring in the 9th minute after being played in behind by Bryan Acosta.

OKC Energy nearly leveled in the 21st minute, but Jimmy Maurer denied the penalty kick.

ElMedkhar doubled the FC Dallas lead in the 67th minute on a beautiful curling effort off an assist from Jose Martinez.

Pepi, who returned from training with the US Under-23 national team, then struck for his first in the 74th minute, dancing around a pair of OKC defenders before a bottom corner finish. Pepi bagged his brace 10 minutes later with a first-time volley off a Thomas Roberts cross.


  • 9’ — DAL — Freddy Vargas
  • 67’ — DAL — Kalil ElMedkhar
  • 74’ — DAL — Ricardo Pepi
  • 84’ — DAL — Ricardo Pepi


No lineup information was provided for this scrimmage

LA Galaxy 2, San Diego Loyal 1 (aggregate)

Jonathan Perez and Preston Judd scored to help lift the LA Galaxy to a 2-1 aggregate win over San Diego Loyal in a closed-door 120-minute scrimmage at Dignity Health Sports Park’s University Field 1 Saturday afternoon.

The match was split into two 60-minute periods.

Mauricio Cuevas set up Perez for his strike, the lone tally in the opening 60 minutes. After San Diego trialist CJ Fodrey leveled in the second period, Judd, the 35th overall pick in the 2021 MLS SuperDraft, netted the decisive goal.


  • LA — Jonathan Perez
  • SD — CJ Fodrey
  • LA — Preston Judd


No lineup information was provided for this scrimmage

Nashville SC 4, Louisville City FC 0

Hany Mukhtar scored twice and CJ Sapong and an unsigned player added one goal apiece in a 4-0 win for Nashville SC over Louisville City FC in the club’s preseason opener Saturday afternoon at Currey Ingram Academy.

The match was played in three 30-minute periods.

Mukhtar set up Sapong for the opening goal in the 7th minute and Mukhtar converted from the penalty spot to double Nashville’s lead 10 minutes later.

Two minutes later, Mukhtar struck for his second on an assist from Anibal Godoy and Luke Haakenson set up the unsigned player for the final goal on the hour mark.


  • 7’ — NSH — CJ Sapong
  • 17’ — NSH — Hany Mukhtar (PK)
  • 19’ — NSH — Hany Mukhtar
  • 60’ — NSH — Unsigned Player


Nashville SC, first 30 minutes (4-2-3-1): Joe Willis — Daniel Lovitz, Walker Zimmerman, Dave Romney, Alistair Johnston — Dax McCarty, Aníbal Godoy — Hany Mukhtar, Handwalla Bwana, Alex Muyl — CJ Sapong

Nashville SC, second 30 minutes (4-2-3-1): Bryan Meredith — Eric Miller, Jalil Anibaba, Jack Maher, Taylor Washington — Luke Haakenson, Brian Anunga — Unsigned Player, Dominique Badji, Unsigned Player, Rodrigo Piñeiro

Nashville SC, third 30 minutes (4-2-3-1): Elliot Panicco — Robert Castellanos, Taylor Washington, Luke Haakenson, Matt LaGrassa — Brian Anunga, Abu Danladi — Unsigned Player, Unsigned Player, Unsigned Player — Unsigned Player