Chicago Fire FC - preseason - celebration

Chicago Fire FC opened the 2021 MLS preseason with a 2-1 win over New York City FC on Saturday afternoon in Orlando, shaking off an early own goal.

NYCFC seized a 1-0 lead just 42 seconds into the match, as goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth failed to control a bouncing pass from center back Francisco Calvo. The ball trickled into Chicago’s goal, marking a tough start for head coach Raphael Wicky’s team.

But they quickly recovered, starting with Designated Player forward Robert Beric calmly equalizing at 1-1 in the 14th minute. Ignacio Aliseda led a counter attack after NYCFC misplayed a throw-in, and the fast break fell to the Slovenian following a layoff from the Argentine attacking midfielder.

Chicago found their game-winner in the 54th minute through Eliot Collier, who curled home for a 2-1 lead. The wide forward’s shot deflected off NYCFC right back Ben Di Rosa, a second-round SuperDraft pick out of the University of Maryland.

The Fire trotted out an entirely new lineup for the second half, while NYCFC made several changes after the halftime break and introduced five academy players as substitutes.


  • 1' – NYC – Francisco Calvo (OG)
  • 14' – CHI – Robert Beric
  • 54' – CHI – Eliot Collier


New York City FC (4-2-3-1):Sean Johnson (Luis Barraza 46') –  Ben Di Rosa, Maxime Chanot (Justin Haak 46'), Sebastien Ibeagha (Vuk Latinovich 46'), Gudmundur Thorarinsson – James Sands (Keaton Parks 46'), Nicolas Acevedo – Jesus Medina, Ismael Tajouri-Shradi (Tony Rocha 46'), Andres Jasson – Valentin Castellanos

  • Note – NYCFC subbed on the following five academy players during the second half as well: Dren Dobruna, Cooper Flax, Mateo Ponce-Ocampo, Diego Rossi and Gianluca Armellino

Chicago Fire FC, first half (4-2-3-1): Bobby Shuttleworth – Boris Sekulic, Nicolas Slonina, Francisco Calvo, Andre Reynolds II – Javier Casas, Gaston Gimenez – Przemyslaw Frankowski, Ignacio Aliseda, Alex Monis – Robert Beric

Chicago Fire FC, second half (4-2-3-1): Gabriel Slonina – Jhon Espinoza, Carlos Teran, Wyatt Omsberg, Jonathan Bornstein – Fabian Herbers, Johan Kappelhof – Brian Gutierrez, Luka Stojanovic, Elliot Collier – Chinonso Offor