Cristian Guitierrez - Vancouver Whitecaps - Preseason

Lucas Cavallini scored another goal and Ali Adnan added the insurance with a highlight-reel free kick, pacing the Vancouver Whitecaps to a 2-0 preseason victory over the New England Revolution at Providence Park in Portland.

Cavallini broke a scoreless deadlock in the 68th minute, marking a third straight preseason match with a goal for Vancouver's new top forward. The Canadian international managed to chest down a cross in front of goal and blast home the finish to put the Whitecaps out in front. Watch it below:

Adnan then added a second for the Whitecaps just three minutes later in highlight-reel fashion with a brilliant free kick from well outside the penalty box, pushing the advantage to the 2-0 scoreline that wound up holding as the final.

The Whitecaps move to 2W-2L-1D on their 2020 exhibition schedule with the victory ahead of their preseason finale against Minnesota United at Providence Park on Saturday. The Revs, meanwhile, fall to 1W-2L-1D through four exhibition matches. New England will also close out its preseason on Saturday with a bout against the Portland Timbers at Providence.


  • 68' - VAN - Lucas Cavallini
  • 71' - VAN - Ali Adnan


New England Revolution starting XI: Brad Knighton (46' Jeff Caldwell) – Seth Sinovic, Henry Kessler, Michael Mancienne, Simon Lekressner – Scott Caldwell, Kelyn Rowe – Diego Fagundez, Tajon Buchanan, Damion Rivera – Justin Rennicks

New England Revolution, 60th min.: Jeff Caldwell – Seth Sinovic, Andrew Farrell, Michael Mancienne, Simon Lekressner – Scott Caldwell (78' Nicolas Firmino), Luis Caicedo – Teal Bunbury, Tajon Buchanan, Isaac Angking – Justin Rennicks

Vancouver Whitecaps 1st Half:  Bryan Meredith – Jake Nerwinksi, Andy Rose, Jasser Khmiri (39' Amer Đidić), Cristian Gutierrez – Inbeom Hwang, Patrick Metcalfe – Cristian Dajome, Yordy Reyna, Ryan Raposo – Tosaint Ricketts

Vancouver Whitecaps, 2nd Half: Bryan Meredith – Georges Mukumbilwa, Andy Rose (63' Derek Cornelius), Amer Đidić, Cristián Gutiérrez (63' Ali Adnan) – Aboubacar Sissoko, Russell Teibert – Theo Bair, Fredy Montero, David Milinković – Lucas Cavallini