New York Red Bulls fans - Shield poster - panoramic shot

After lifting the 2019 Supporters' Shield on Wednesday night, not only have LAFC secured a Round One bye and Concacaf Champions League berth, they will also not play a single Audi MLS Cup Playoff game outside of Banc of California Stadium this fall.

As such, the focus shifts are to win the second-year club's first MLS Cup. It won't be easy for the league leaders, even though this year's new playoff format there is no more home-and-home series, and the club have lost at home exactly one time in MLS this season. 

Still, history isn't on their side. Here's how the previous 23 Supporters' Shield winners have fared in the playoffs:

Playoffs finish
MLS Cup champions
MLS Cup finalists
Conference finalists
Conference semi-finalists

Only seven teams have done the Supporters' Shield and MLS Cup double, the most recent of which being Toronto FC in 2017. Only three teams, including TFC, have done so since 2002, though: The 2008 Columbus Crew and 2011 LA Galaxy. Just as many teams have been eliminated as early as the conference semifinals, most recently FC Dallas in 2016. 

Can Carlos Vela and co. do the double this season?