LAFC - celebrate Supporters' Shield - closer shot
Devin Lamoreaux / Creators' Network

LAFC win 2019 Supporters' Shield, lift first major trophy

Amid one of the best regular seasons in Major League Soccer history, LAFC have won the 2019 Supporters' Shield. It's the second-year club's first major trophy. 

With a 3-1 win over the Houston Dynamo on Wednesday, LAFC wrapped up the trophy with two games left in the season. Bob Bradley's side are now just three points off the league's single-season record for points of 71, set last season by New York Red Bulls

It's the first Supporters' Shield won as head coach in Bradley's storied career.

The club will continue to chase the regular season record books. LAFC are now four goals behind the 1998 LA Galaxy's record mark of 85 while they already have the best goal difference in league history, sitting at 46. Carlos Vela is one goal behind Josef Martinez's single-season record of 31, set last season. 

By virtue of winning the Shield, LAFC won't play a road game in the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs. They also have a first-round bye. 

All-Time Supporters' Shield Winners

  • 1996: Tampa Bay Mutiny
  • 1997: D.C. United
  • 1998: LA Galaxy
  • 1999: D.C. United
  • 2000: Kansas City Wizards
  • 2001: Miami Fusion
  • 2002: LA Galaxy
  • 2003: Chicago Fire
  • 2004: Columbus Crew
  • 2005: San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2006: D.C. United
  • 2007: D.C. United
  • 2008: Columbus Crew
  • 2009: Columbus Crew
  • 2010: LA Galaxy
  • 2011: LA Galaxy
  • 2012: San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2013: New York Red Bulls
  • 2014: Seattle Sounders
  • 2015: New York Red Bulls
  • 2016: FC Dallas
  • 2017: Toronto FC
  • 2018: New York Red Bulls
  • 2019: LAFC

Childhood cancer doesn’t stop for COVID-19

Share your message of hope to inspire their fight as part of childhood cancer awareness month. Learn how you can support