2019 MLS Regular Season — Week 18
LA Galaxy vs. Toronto FC
 Dignity Heath Sports Complex — Carson
July 4 - 10:30 PM ET

TV: TSN 1/4


The LA Galaxy look to bounce back from a disappointing loss to the San Jose Earthquakes in the first California Clasico of 2019 when they host Toronto FC at Dignity Health Sports Complex Thursday night.  

Winners of three of their previous four games, the Galaxy (10-7-1) suffered a lopsided 3-0 defeat to the Quakes at Stanford Stadium last Saturday night. After Vako opened the scoring on 11 minutes, Shea Salinas and Tommy Thompson struck three minutes apart late, much to the delight of the 50,850 fans in attendance.

It was nearly an ideal return to Washington D.C. for Nick DeLeon, who scored against his former team in the 19th minute. The lead stood until second-half stoppage time, as Wayne Rooney struck from the penalty spot after Frederic Brillant drew the spot kick. Ultimately, Toronto FC (6-7-5) were forced to settle for a 1-1 draw at Audi Field last Saturday. 

The teams met in Carson on July 4, 2015 with the Galaxy prevailing, 4-0. Robbie Keane scored a hat trick and Sebastian Lletget tacked on a stoppage-time goal.

LA Galaxy

LA Galaxy vs. Toronto FC | 2019 MLS Match Preview - Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Romain Alessandrin (M) - knee surgery
    • QUESTIONABLE: Chris Pontius (M) - hamstring injury
    • QUESTIONABLE: Sebastian Lletget (M) - pelvis injury
  • Suspended: None
  • Suspended after next caution: Diego Polenta (D)
  • International duty:  Uriel Antuna (F), Jonathan dos Santos (M)

Toronto FC

LA Galaxy vs. Toronto FC | 2019 MLS Match Preview - Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Drew Moor (D) - hamstring strain
  • Suspended: None
  • Suspended after next caution: Richie Laryea (M)
  • International duty: Jozy Altidore (F), Michael Bradley (M)

Series Matchup at Galaxy

  • Galaxy: 5 wins, 19 goals
  • Toronto FC: 2 wins, 12 goals
  • 2 draws


  • Referee: Ramy Touchan
  • Assistant Referees: Ian Anderson, Eduardo Mariscal
  • 4th Official: Joe Dickerson
  • VAR: Tim Ford