Kings of the League: Toronto FC win first Supporters' Shield

Toronto FC - Supporters' Shield winners

Make it two for two.

Having already won the Canadian Championship earlier this year, Toronto FC on Saturday became the first Canadian side to win the MLS Supporters' Shield, awarded to the team with the best record during the regular season.

TFC's win over the New York Red Bulls means that no team can catch the Reds with three weeks left to play. 

The trophy is the club's seventh, with the previous six all being Canadian Championships. That total matches Sporting KC for the third-most of any MLS club.

With 19 wins and 65 points on the year, Toronto continue chasing history with two games remaining. TFC is one win from matching the 2014 Seattle Sounders for most in a season, and only three points behind the 1998 LA Galaxy's highest-ever regular season points total. 

The Reds focus now turns to the Audi 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs, and becoming the first MLS side to claim the domestic treble should they lift the MLS Cup in December. By virtue of their Supporters' Shield win, Toronto FC will hold home-field advantage throughout the playoffs, and host MLS Cup should they reach the title game.

All-Time Supporters' Shield Winners:

  • 1996: Tampa Bay Mutiny
  • 1997: D.C. United
  • 1998: LA Galaxy
  • 1999: D.C. United
  • 2000: Kansas City Wizards
  • 2001: Miami Fusion
  • 2002: LA Galaxy
  • 2003: Chicago Fire
  • 2004: Columbus Crew
  • 2005: San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2006: D.C. United
  • 2007: D.C. United
  • 2008: Columbus Crew
  • 2009: Columbus Crew
  • 2010: LA Galaxy
  • 2011: LA Galaxy
  • 2012: San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2013: New York Red Bulls
  • 2014: Seattle Sounders
  • 2015: New York Red Bulls
  • 2016: FC Dallas
  • 2017: Toronto FC