Efrain Alvarez with assist as Mexico beat US in Concacaf U-17 Championship

US, Mexico - Concacaf U-17 final

LA GalaxyHomegrown midfielder Efrain Alvarez played a role as Mexico defeated the United States 2-1 in extra time in the 2019 Concacaf U-17 Championship final on Thursday to win the title.

Alvarez, the Galaxy phenom who is eligible for both countries, set up Mexico's first-half equalizer with a deft chip that was headed in by Santiago Muñoz.

The US team, featuring considerable representation from MLS academy players as well as MLS full pros, took the early lead, as recent D.C. United signing Griffin Yow put the Americans ahead just nine minutes in.

Alvarez exited the game at halftime, and the teams stayed in a stalemate through 90 minutes, forcing extra time. In the extra period, Mexico pulled ahead through Israel Luna's tap-in off a low cross.

While Mexico retain the U-17 regional title, both countries – as well as semifinalists Canada and Haiti – qualify for the 2019 U-17 World Cup, which will take place in Brazil later this year.


  • 9' – USA – Griffin Yow
  • 17' – MEX – Santiago Muñoz
  • 108' – MEX – Luna


USA: GK: Damian Las (Chicago Fire); Joe Scally (NYCFC), Adam Armour, Kobe Hernandez-Foster (LA Galaxy), Tayvon Gray (NYCFC); Danny Leyva (Seattle Sounders), Gianluca Busio (Sporting KC), Adam Saldana (LA Galaxy), Griffin Yow (D.C. United); Gio Reyna, Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez (Seattle Sounders)


  • 70' – Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas) for Griffin Yow
  • 86' – Tyler Freeman (Sporting KC) for Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez
  • 106' – John Tolkin (New York Red Bulls) for Adam Armour
  • 116' – Gilbert Fuentes (San Jose Earthquakes) for Adam Saldana

Mexico: GK: Eduardo Garcia; Jose Ruiz, Victor Guzman, Rafael Martinez, Emilio Lara; Eugenio Pizzuto, Bryan Gonzalez, Kevin Mariscal, Efrain Alvarez (LA Galaxy), Israel Luna, Santiago Muñoz


  • 46' – Luis Martinez for Efrain Alvarez
  • 51' – Josue Martinez for Eugenio Pizzuto
  • 81' – Leonardo Correa for Santiago Muñoz
  • 109' – Kevin Ortega for Kevin Mariscal