Peru shocked Brazil, 1-0, to knock the Seleçao out of the Copa America Centenario and claim first place in Group B, but the result will be overshadowed by Peru’s controversial winning goal.
Raul Ruidiaz turned in a cross from Andy Polo in the 75th minute, appearing to punch the ball with his hand to get it over the line. After extensive discussion with his linesman and the fourth official, Uruguayan referee Andres Cunha awarded the goal. Television replays would show Ruidiaz clearly turned the ball in with his hand before it deflected off his thigh and into the goal.
It was a stilted performance overall from Brazil, who dominated possession and the shot charts, but failed to seriously test Peru ‘keeper Pedro Gallese outside of a stupendous save on Brazil phenom Gabriel in the 26th minute and a last-minute chance from Elias that the Brazilian couldn't get enough purchase on.
Peru will now face Group A runners-up Colombia in the quarterfinals on Friday, June 17 at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.
HAND OF GOD:
There is only one play from this game that will be endlessly discussed and dissected over the coming weeks and months. Here is the replay of Ruidiaz’s winning goal:
While the first two angles make it hard tell what part of the body hits the ball first, the over-the-top shot makes it pretty clear: Ruidiaz smacked the ball in with his hand. But even after discussing the call for nearly five minutes, the officials could not conclusively say that Ruidiaz hand handled the ball, and gave a goal that sent Peru on to a historic upset of their neighbors to the east.
- BRA: ELIMINATED from Copa America Centenario
- PER: Colombia (A2) on Friday, June 17 (8 pm ET | FS1)