Allen Chapman named MLS Referee of the Year for second time

Awards - 2019 - Referee and AR of the Year

Allen Chapman has been named 2019 MLS Referee of the Year while Brian Dunn has been named the 2019 MLS Assistant Referee of the Year, the league announced Tuesday. It's the second time Chapman has been recognized as the league's best referee, first winning the award in 2017.

Chapman was the lead referee in 2017 MLS Cup as well as the U.S. Open Cup final earlier this year. He has been working MLS matches since 2012 and has been assigned 162 games in his career. 

“I’m delighted that the consistently high levels of performance produced by both Allen Chapman and Brian Dunn throughout the season have been recognized in this way. Both are extremely talented and dedicated officials, and they are very deserving of their respective Referee and Assistant Referee of the Year honors,” PRO General Manager Howard Webb said in a statement. “The outstanding work of Allen and Brian throughout 2019 is a reflection of the increasingly high standards we set each year at the Professional Referee Organization, as our talented pool of match officials continues to get stronger.”

Dunn was named an assistant referee for this season's MLS All-Star Game presented by Target. He was also part of the officiating crew for the 2019 U.S. Open Cup final and has worked 135 MLS matches, beginning in 2012. 

Nominated by U.S. Soccer, the Canadian Soccer Association and the MLS Competition Committee, candidates for MLS Referee of the Year and Assistant Referee of the Year were voted on by MLS club management, media and MLS players. Below is the voting breakdown for these two awards:

Voting Results

Nominee – Referee of the Year
Vote %
Allen Chapman
Rubiel Vazquez
Jair Marrufo
Nominee – Asst. Referee of the Year
Vote %
Brian Dunn
Logan Brown
Brian Poeschel

MLS Referee of the Year Winners

  • 2019: Allen Chapman
  • 2018: Alan Kelly
  • 2017: Allen Chapman
  • 2016: Alan Kelly
  • 2015: Alan Kelly
  • 2014: Mark Geiger
  • 2013: Hilario Grajeda
  • 2012: Silviu Petrescu
  • 2011: Mark Geiger
  • 2010: Kevin Stott
  • 2009: Alex Prus
  • 2008: Jair Marrufo
  • 2007: Brian Hall
  • 2006: Brian Hall
  • 2005: Brian Hall
  • 2004: Abiodun Okulaja
  • 2003: Brian Hall
  • 2002: Kevin Terry
  • 2001: Paul Tamberino
  • 2000: Paul Tamberino
  • 1999: Paul Tamberino
  • 1998: Paul Tamberino
  • 1997: Esse Baharmast

MLS Assistant Referee of the Year Winners

  • 2019: Brian Dunn
  • 2018: Joe Fletcher
  • 2017: Corey Parker
  • 2016: Frank Anderson
  • 2015: Corey Parker
  • 2014: Paul Scott
  • 2013: Kermit Quisenberry
  • 2012: Ian Anderson
  • 2011: Corey Rockwell
  • 2010: Craig Lowry
  • 2009: Greg Barkey
  • 2008: Kermit Quisenberry