LAFC vs. Inter Miami CF | 2020 MLS Match Preview

2020 MLS Regular Season Week 1
LAFC vs. Inter Miami CF
Banc of California Stadium – Los Angeles
March 1 – 5:30 PM ET

TV: ESPN, ESPN Deportes


In arguably the sexiest game of the season-opening slate, expansion Inter Miami CF take on LAFC in their inaugural MLS match Sunday at Banc of California Stadium.

LAFC set an MLS record for points en route to winning the Supporters' Shield a year ago, but have unfinished business on their minds after falling short of winning MLS Cup. With the exception of the stunning move of center back Walker Zimmerman to Nashville SC, LAFC are largely unchanged with a wealth of attacking talent led by reigning Golden Boot and Landon Donovan MVP winner Carlos Vela. Kenneth Vermeer comes in as the No. 1 goalkeeper and Francisco Ginella and Jose Cifuentes continue the trend of top young South American talent heading to the City of Angels. 

After being linked with virtually every player in the Western and Southern Hemisphere, Inter Miami CF landed big fish Rodolfo Pizarro, who reunites with former Monterrey coach Diego Alonso. The newcomers also have their share of young South American talents in Matias Pellegrini and Julian Carranza and a proven MLS veteran in goal in Luis Robles.

LAFC vs. Miami

Sunday, March 1 at 5:30 PM ET
Banc of California Stadium

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Adama Diomande (F) - fractured metatarsal
    • OUT: Bradley Wright-Phillips (F) - sports hernia surgery
  • Suspended: None
  • Suspended after next caution:  None
  • International duty:  None
Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: George Acosta (M) - left knee injury
    • OUT: Julián Carranza (F) - left foot injury
    • OUT: Denso Ulysse (D) - left lower foot
  • Suspended: None
  • Suspended after next caution:  None
  • International duty:  None

Series Matchup at LAFC

  • This is the first all-time meeting between LAFC and Inter Miami CF


  • Referee: Allen Chapman
  • Assistant Referees: Brian Dunn, Oscar Mitchell-Carvalho
  • 4th Official: Baldomero Toledo
  • VAR: Ricardo Salazar