Real Monarchs SLC win 2019 USL Championship title, five Real Salt Lake players feature

For the second time in USL Championship history, an MLS affiliate has taken home the ultimate trophy.

Real Monarchs SLC join New York Red Bulls II (2016), winning the second division USL Championship final in an upset road win over Louisville City FC. The Real Salt Lake affiliate beat the two-time USL champions 3-1 at Lynn Stadium on Sunday night.

Five current RSL players featured in the starting XI for the Monarchs. Homegrown David Ochoa started in goal, Erik Holt was one of three center backs, as Luke Mulholland, Justin Portillo and Tate Schmitt played in midfield.

Louisville opened the scoring in the sixth minute before Jamison Olave's team came back to score in two in the first half off set pieces. Holt scored the first with a beautiful strike from distance while Mulholland assisted on the second. Noah Powder, who was a member of the NYRB II team that won the title in 2016, added an insurance goal in the second half.

Olave helped RSL win MLS Cup in 2009, the organization's only other trophy, and was critical in their run to the Concacaf Champions League final in 2011. The former center back was named interim coach of the Monarchs on July 1, 2019, after Martin Vasquez left the club.

The Monarchs are the second MLS affiliate to win a title this year as FC Dallas's USL League One affiliate, North Texas SC, won the third division championship last month.

All-time USL champions

  • 2011: Orlando City
  • 2012: Charleston Battery
  • 2013: Orlando City
  • 2014: Sacramento Republic FC
  • 2015: Rochester Rhinos
  • 2016: New York Red Bulls II
  • 2017: Louisville City FC
  • 2018: Louisville City FC
  • 2019: Real Monarchs SLC