Canada names 24-man roster for Concacaf Nations League tilts vs. Cuba

The Canadian men's national team have released their 24-man roster ahead of September Concacaf Nations League matches against Cuba in September, it was announced Wednesday. Canada will open Group A play against Cuba at BMO Field Sept. 7 before a Sept. 10 rematch in the Cayman Islands.

“It’s great to be back in Toronto because for many of these players it’s their hometown and an opportunity to show their best in the red shirt,” Canada coach John Herdman said in a statement. “This squad of players are hungry for success and want to qualify for the Concacaf Nations League Final Four Tournament in June.  We’ve put down some strong roots over the last 18 months in our cultural and tactical approaches and we will be doing everything in this series of games to take our country to the next level ”.

The squad features 16 holdovers from the Concacaf Gold Cup and 12 MLS players with the Vancouver Whitecaps leading the way with four players selected — goalkeeper Maxime Crepeau, who set a new MLS record with 16 saves in a 3-1 loss at San Jose, central defenders Derek Cornelius and Doneil Henry and midfielder Russell Teibert to go along with 'Caps alum Alphonso Davies from Bayern Munich.

Canada National Team Roster vs. Cuba

Position Name Club
GK Milan Borjan Red Star Belgrade
GK Marco Carducci Cavalry FC
GK Maxime Crepeau Vancouver Whitecaps
D Samuel Adekugbe Vålerenga Fotball
D Juan Cordova CD Huachipato
D Derek Cornelius Vancouver Whitecaps
D Doneil Henry Vancouver Whitecaps
D Richie Laryea Toronto FC
D Kamal Miller Orlando City SC
D Adam Straith VfL Sportfreunde Lotte
D Steven Vitoria Moreirense FC
M Liam Fraser Toronto FC
M Will Johnson Orlando City SC
M Mark-Anthony Kaye LAFC
M Jonathan Osorio Toronto FC
M Samuel Piette Montreal Impact
M Russell Teibert Vancouver Whitecaps
M David Wotherspoon St. Johnstone FC
F Tesho Akindele Orlando City SC
F Lucas Cavallini Puebla FC
F Jonathan David KAA Gent
F Alphonso Davies Bayern Munich
F Junior Hoilett Cardiff City
F Cyle Larin SV Zulte Waregem