Houston Dynamo vs. Seattle Sounders FC | 2019 MLS Match Preview

2019 MLS Regular Season Week 21
Houston Dynamo vs. Seattle Sounders FC
BBVA Stadium - Houston
July 27 - 8:00 PM ET


The Houston Dynamo look to climb above the playoff line, while the Seattle Sounders attempt to push into second place when the Western Conference foes meet up at BBVA Stadium Saturday night.

The Dynamo (9-9-3) won for just the second time away from home this season, beating Toronto FC, 3-1, at BMO Field last Saturday. Tommy McNamara and Tomas Martinez gave Houston a 2-0 lead before the half-hour mark and Mauro Manotas put the game on ice in the 57th minute, making Jozy Altidore's 75th-minute goal largely cosmetic.  

The Sounders (10-6-5) are looking to bounce back from a 2-1 Cascadia Cup defeat to the Portland Timbers at CenturyLink Field Sunday. Raul Ruidiaz leveled in the 50th minute, but Brian Fernandez put the visitors in front with his second goal of the game just one minute later. 

This is the second meeting this season with the Sounders winning 1-0 at CenturyLink Field May 11 with Cristian Roldan's stunning volley in the 5th minute the difference. 

Houston vs. Seattle

Saturday, July 27 at 8:00 PM ET
BBVA Stadium


Houston Dynamo

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
  • Suspended: Alberth Elis (F)
  • Suspended after next caution: A.J. DeLaGarza (D), Maynor Figueroa (D), Alberth Elis (F), Romell Quioto (M)
  • International duty:  None

Seattle Sounders FC

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Will Bruin (F) - right ACL tear
    • OUT: Victor Rodriguez (M) - left hamstring strain
    • QUESTIONABLE: Kelvin Leerdam (D) - right ankle impingement
    • QUESTIONABLE: Raul Ruidiaz (F) - concussion
    • QUESTIONABLE: Roman Torres (D) - right ankle sprain
  • Suspended: None
  • Suspended after next caution:  Kelvin Leerdam (D), Kim Kee-hee (D)
  • International duty:  None

Series Matchup at Dynamo

  • Dynamo: 13 wins, 34 goals
  • Sounders: 1 win, 13 goals
  • 3 draws


  • Referee: Nima Saghafi
  • Assistant Referees: Ian Anderson, Gjovalin Bori
  • 4th Official: Matt Franz
  • VAR: Jorge Gonzalez