Peter Vermes - Ben Olsen - embrace
USA Today Sports

List of longest-tenured head coaches in MLS ahead of 2019 season

Ben Olsen signed a contract extension with D.C. United on Thursday, with the second-longest tenured head coach in MLS right now looking set to remain at Audi Field for years to come.

In fact, Olsen and the manager currently in charge of a team the longest, Sporting Kansas City's Peter Vermes, have been at the helm far longer than any other coach in the league. Vermes started coaching Kansas City way back in 2009, and Olsen took over at D.C. in 2010. The next closest managers in terms of tenure didn't begin until 2014.

Add to that three coaches taking over on a permanent basis during the 2018 season and seven bosses beginning their tenure for the upcoming 2019 season, and turnover is far more common than longevity.

As 2019 begins, here's the full list of head coaches in the league, ranked from longest-tenured to newest (year listed indicates a coach’s first season with their club):

MLS head coaches, ranked by tenure: 

Coach Team Season started
Peter Vermes SKC 2009
Ben Olsen DC 2010
Jim Curtin PHI 2014
Greg Vanney TOR 2014
Veljko Paunovic CHI 2016
Brian Schmetzer SEA 2016
Wilmer Cabrera HOU 2017
Adrian Heath MIN 2017
Mike Petke RSL 2017
Bob Bradley LAFC 2018
Brad Friedel NE 2018
Remi Garde MTL 2018
Anthony Hudson COL 2018
Giovanni Savarese POR 2018
Chris Armas RBNY 2018
Dome Torrent NYC 2018
James O'Connor ORL 2018
Matias Almeyda SJ 2019
Frank de Boer ATL 2019
Marc Dos Santos VAN 2019
Luchi Gonzalez DAL 2019
Alan Koch CIN 2019
Caleb Porter CLB 2019
Guillermo Barros Schelotto LA 2019