2018 Awards - AT&T Goal of the Year - Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Ibrahimovic wins AT&T MLS Goal of the Year; Frei garners top save

Galaxy striker’s 40-yard blast vs. LAFC provides storybook MLS debut,
while Sounders goalkeeper’s stop against Rapids fuels 12-game unbeaten streak
NEW YORK (Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2018) – Major League Soccer announced today that LA Galaxy forward Zlatan Ibrahimović has earned the 2018 AT&T MLS Goal of the Year for his blistering first MLS goal against the Los Angeles Football Club. Additionally, Seattle Sounders FC goalkeeper Stefan Frei has garnered the 2018 MLS Save of the Year for his quick-reflex stop against the Colorado Rapids on July 4.
The winners were unveiled on a special MLS ExtraTime Live awards show on MLSsoccer.com. Fans selected from 16 Goal of the Year nominees and 16 Save of the Year nominees via online voting.
Sweden icon Ibrahimović’s MLS debut on March 31 was one for the storybooks. Down by a goal in the 77th minute against crosstown rival LAFC, Ibrahimović unleashed a 40-yard, right-footed equalizer over LAFC goalkeeper Tyler Miller and into the back of the net to create a frenzy at StubHub Center. The wondergoal tied the score at 3-3, and it was only the beginning of the Zlatan craze as he then headed home the winner in stoppage time for a 4-3 victory. Also among the MLS Goal of the Year nominees was Ibrahimović’s 500th career goal (combining professional and international tallies), a martial-arts-like sweeping kick against Toronto FC on Sept. 15.
The top-voted save of 2018 was Frei’s full-stretch, left-glove stop against the Colorado Rapids on July 4 that ultimately served as major turning point for Seattle’s season. An unmarked Shkëlzen Gashi had a clear view of the frame from the right side of the box and shot toward the near right post in the 82nd minute. Frei reacted quickly, diving to his left and parrying the ball out for a corner kick to maintain a 2-1 advantage, and Sounders FC ended up winning by that score line. The match started an impressive 12-game unbeaten streak that carried Sounders FC into the Audi 2018 MLS Cup Playoffs for a 10th consecutive season.
The AT&T Goal of the Year and MLS Save of the Year were determined by fan votes on MLSsoccer.com. The Goal of the Year has been awarded since the league’s inaugural 1996 season and the Save of the Year was established starting in 2009.
All-time MLS Goal of the Year winners:
2018: Zlatan Ibrahimović – LA Galaxy | 3/31/18 vs. Los Angeles Football Club, 77th minute
2017: Héctor Villalba – Atlanta United | 7/21/17 vs. Orlando City SC, 86th minute
2016: Shkëlzen Gashi – Colorado Rapids | 9/24/16 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC, 75th minute
2015: Krisztián Németh – Sporting Kansas City | 10/4/15 vs. Portland Timbers, 83rd minute
2014: Obafemi Martins – Seattle Sounders FC | 5/23/14 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 8th minute
2013: Camilo Sanvezzo – Vancouver Whitecaps FC | 10/6/13 vs. Portland Timbers, 78th minute
2012: Patrick Ianni – Seattle Sounders FC | 6/20/12 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 15th minute
2011: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers | 7/2/11 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 45th minute
2010: Marco Pappa – Chicago Fire | 4/10/10 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 52nd minute
2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy | 8/8/09 vs. New England Revolution, 21st minute
2008: Will Johnson – Real Salt Lake | 10/18/08 vs. FC Dallas, 54th minute
2007: Cuauhtémoc Blanco – Chicago Fire | 8/18/07 vs. Real Salt Lake, 43rd minute
2006: Brian Ching – Houston Dynamo | 9/30/06 v D.C. United, 86th minute
2005: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes | 10/15/05 vs. LA Galaxy, 45th minute
2004: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes | 8/7/04 vs. D.C. United, 82nd minute
2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire | 8/13/03 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 90th minute
2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy | 7/27/02 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 75th minute
2001: Clint Mathis – MetroStars | 4/28/01 vs. Dallas Burn, 60th minute
2000: Marcelo Balboa – Colorado Rapids | 4/22/00 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 55th minute
1999: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United | 5/22/99 vs. Miami Fusion, 90th minute
1998: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew | 7/9/98 vs. Chicago Fire, 68th minute
1997: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United | 8/27/97 vs. New England Revolution, 39th minute
1996: Eric Wynalda – San Jose Clash | 4/6/96 vs. D.C. United, 88th minute
All-time MLS Save of the Year winners:
2018: Stefan Frei – Seattle Sounders FC | 7/4/18 vs. Colorado Rapids, 82nd minute
2017: Brad Guzan – Atlanta United | 10/15/17 vs. New York Red Bulls, 65th minute
2016: Joe Bendik – Orlando City SC | 5/15/16 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 45th minute
2015: Adam Kwarasey – Portland Timbers | 8/15/15 vs. Real Salt Lake, 31st minute
2014: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls | 9/20/14 vs. Seattle Sounders FC, 69th minute
2013: Nick Rimando – Real Salt Lake | 8/3/13 vs. Colorado Rapids, 53rd minute
2012: Nick Rimando – Real Salt Lake | 4/14/12 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 75th minute
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC | 10/15/11 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 64th minute
2010: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC | 4/17/10 vs. Kansas City Wizards, 90th+2 minute
2009: Pat Onstad – Houston Dynamo | 4/19/09 vs. Colorado Rapids, 83rd minute

LIVE YOUR COLORS: Download the free MLS app - The official MLS app gets a major update for 2019, making it easier than ever to keep up with your favorite club, check standings, watch videos and much more.