New York Red Bulls set MLS points record, win 3rd Supporters' Shield

The New York Red Bulls refused to fade away in the Supporters' Shield race and have outlasted Atlanta United, setting an MLS record for points in the process.

With a 1-0 victory over Orlando City SC, the Red Bulls have now won the Shield for a third time in the last six seasons. The trophy is awarded to the team with the best record during the regular season, with RBNY's 71 points breaking the mark TFC set in 2017 (69).

They entered the day a point behind Atlanta, who lost, 4-1, against Toronto FC.

Sunday's win was RBNY's 22nd on the year, also the most in MLS history. 

RBNY's focus now turns to the Audi 2018 MLS Cup Playoffs. By virtue of their Shield win, New York will hold home-field advantage throughout the playoffs, and host MLS Cup should they reach the title game.

All-Time Supporters' Shield Winners

  • 1996: Tampa Bay Mutiny
  • 1997: D.C. United
  • 1998: LA Galaxy
  • 1999: D.C. United
  • 2000: Kansas City Wizards
  • 2001: Miami Fusion
  • 2002: LA Galaxy
  • 2003: Chicago Fire
  • 2004: Columbus Crew
  • 2005: San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2006: D.C. United
  • 2007: D.C. United
  • 2008: Columbus Crew
  • 2009: Columbus Crew
  • 2010: LA Galaxy
  • 2011: LA Galaxy
  • 2012: San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2013: New York Red Bulls
  • 2014: Seattle Sounders
  • 2015: New York Red Bulls
  • 2016: FC Dallas
  • 2017: Toronto FC
  • 2018: New York Red Bulls