Canada national team announce roster for Concacaf Nations League qualifiers

The Canadian national team have released their roster for the upcoming Concacaf Nations League qualifiers, and the 23-player squad is rich with names and faces familiar to MLS observers. They'll gather on Monday ahead of their first match, September 9 vs. the U.S. Virgin Islands, who will hold the game at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.

Canada are also set to host Dominica at Toronto's BMO Field on October 16, visit St. Kitts and Nevis on November 18 and conclude qualifying with a home match vs. French Guiana on March 26.

Rising Vancouver Whitecaps star Alphonso Davies leads the way, headlining a strong 'Caps contingent, while Jonathan Osorio is one of several Toronto FC standouts to get the call; former Orlando City striker Cyle Larin headlines the squad's overseas arrivals. 

“It’s a great time and this is a talented group: It’s a period in time where every match matters, adding the sort of pressure that will help bind the group tighter,” said coach John Herdman in a federation release. “There is no life in between anymore, that line was burned brightly into the culture in our first camp in March 2018. We know what we are here to do and as a group we will either choose to take this team to another level or we won’t, it’s that clear. This is a talented group who have a real shot at qualifying for Qatar 2022.

“It’s exciting to bring a group of men together where there is real expectation, scrutiny and consequences which ultimately will drive the performance levels up. Knowing you have to win matches sharpens the focus; it breeds both competition for places and a togetherness.”

Canada National Team Roster

Position Name Club
GK Milan Borjan Red Star Belgrade/SRB
GK Alessandro Busti Juventus Primavera/ITA
GK Maxime Crepeau Ottawa Fury
D Zachary Brault-Guillard Olympique Lyonnais/FRA
D Derek Cornelius FK Javor Ivanjica/SRB
D Marcel de Jong Vancouver Whitecaps
D Doneil Henry Vancouver Whitecaps
D Dejan Jakovic LAFC
D Manjrekar James FC Fredericia/DEN
M Scott Arfield Rangers FC/SCO
M Jay Chapman Toronto FC
M Jonathan Osorio Toronto FC
M Samuel Piette Montreal Impact
M Russell Teibert Vancouver Whitecaps
M David Wotherspoon St. Johnstone/SCO
F Tesho Akindele FC Dallas
F Lucas Cavallini Puebla FC/MEX
F Jonathan David KAA Gent/BEL
F Alphonso Davies Vancouver Whitecaps
F Junior Hoilett Cardiff City/WAL
F Cyle Larin Besiktas/TUR
F Liam Millar Liverpool FC U-23/ENG
F Tosaint Ricketts Toronto FC