Junior Hoilett, Manjrekar James, Samuel Piette - Canada national team - 2017
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Canada call up 10 MLSers for Herdman's first camp, New Zealand friendly

The Canadian national team have called up 10 MLS players for their upcoming friendly vs. New Zealand, as Canada Soccer on Monday announced the roster for new coach John Herdman’s first game in charge.

Toronto FC send the biggest delegation to Les Rouges, via the quartet of Jay Chapman, Ashtone Morgan, Jonathan Osorio and Tosaint Ricketts, while their rivals from Quebec the Montreal Impact send three: Raheem Edwards, Michael Petrasso and Samuel Piette.

Also included is FC Dallas attacker Tesho Akindele and the LAFC duo of Dejan Jakovic and Mark-Anthony Kaye, as well as former Vancouver Whitecap David Edgar, currently unattached and aiming to make his first return to the pitch since a serious car accident sidelined him for the entire 2017 MLS season.

Herdman will gather his squad for a one-week camp in Murcia, Spain starting Sunday, then face New Zealand on March 24 at Pinatar Arena (10 am ET | live stream on CanadaSoccer.com).

“This match provides a great opportunity to be face to face with members of the men’s national team program and establish the foundations and relationships that will align [the] program towards a goal of consistent winning performances,” said Herdman in a press release.

“The players believe that we can do this and that with the right plan we can deliver. Our players are looking forward to making that commitment and pushing themselves to levels that they have never reached before.”

Full Canada roster

Position Player Club
GK Milan Borjan Red Star Belgrade
GK Jayson Leutwiler Blackburn Rovers
GK Simon Thomas FK Bodø/Glimt
CB Derek Cornelius FK Javor Ivanjica
CB David Edgar Unattached
CB Dejan Jaković LAFC
CB Manjrekar James Vasas Budapest
FB Samuel Adekugbe Vålerenga Fotball
FB Marcus Godinho Heart of Midlothian FC
FB Ashtone Morgan Toronto FC
FB Michael Petrasso Montreal Impact
M Tesho Akindele FC Dallas
M Scott Arfield Burnley FC
M Jay Chapman Toronto FC
M Raheem Edwards Montreal Impact
M Atiba Hutchinson Beşiktaş JK
M Mark-Anthony Kaye LAFC
M Liam Millar Liverpool FC
M Jonathan Osorio Toronto FC
M Samuel Piette Montreal Impact
F Cyle Larin Beşiktaş JK
F Tosaint Ricketts Toronto FC