Toronto FC supporters hoist Supporters' Shield - October 15, 2017
John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports

Could Toronto FC become the first MLS team to win a domestic treble?

They've already set an MLS record for most points in a single regular season. One more favorable home result in MLS Cup 2017 (Saturday at 4 pm ET on ESPN, UniMas in USA; TSN and TVAS in Canada) and Toronto FC will grab an even bigger spot in the league's history books as MLS's first domestic treble winners.

No MLS team has ever won MLS Cup, the US Open Cup or Canadian Championship and Supporters’ Shield in the same season.

TFC have a real shot to win all three trophies this year, with the club already holding the Canadian Championship and Supporters' Shield titles. They next host the Seattle Sounders in a repeat of the 2016 final, where they were defeated in a penalty-kick shootout at home.

While no team has ever brought home three domestic trophies in a single season, there have been quite a few that have come close.

D.C. United came agonizingly short in 1997, when they won MLS Cup and the Supporters’ Shield but lost the Open Cup final in penalties to Dallas.

The Chicago Fire and Kansas City Wizards both had a shot in 2000, the LA Galaxy nearly pulled it off in 2002 and the Fire came up just short again in 2003, when they won the Shield and Open Cup but lost to San Jose in MLS Cup. 

The Seattle Sounders won the US Open Cup and Supporters’ Shield in 2014 before falling in the Western Conference Championships to eventual MLS Cup winners LA, and FC Dallas also pulled an Open Cup/Shield double in 2016 but were bounced in the Western Conference semis by Seattle, who went on to win their first MLS Cup at TFC's expense.

Check out the table below for a full rundown of the MLS teams who came closest to winning a treble:  

Year Team MLS Cup Supporters' Shield US Open Cup
1997 DC Won Won Lost final to DAL 0-0 (5-3)
1999 DC Won Won Lost to Charleston Battery in first match
2000 KC Won Won Lost to Chicago Sockers in first match
2000 CHI Lost to KC 1-0 Tied KC on points, lost shield on tiebreaker Won
2002 LA Won Won Lost final to CLB 1-0
2003 CHI Lost to SJ 4-2


2004 KC Lost final to DC 3-2 Tied CLB on points, lost Shield on goals for tiebreaker Won
2011 LA Won Won Lost quarterfinal to SEA 3-1
2014 SEA Lost West Championships to LA on away goals Won Won
2016 DAL Lost West Semifinals to Seattle Won Won