Peter Vermes - Side-Eye solo shot - 2017 US Open Cup final
USA Today Sports Images

List of longest tenured head coaches in MLS

From Jeff Cassar in March to Caleb Porter this week, seven head coaches left their teams in 2017, the highest number of coaching changes in a single year in MLS history.

With so much upheaval in the managerial ranks, we thought it’d be a good time to update the list of longest tenured head coaches in the league. Here’s the full list (year listed indicates a coach’s first season with their club):

MLS head coaches, ranked by tenure: 

Peter Vermes, Sporting Kansas City, 2009-
Ben Olsen, D.C. United, 2010-
Gregg Berhalter, Columbus Crew SC, 2014-
Carl Robinson, Vancouver Whitecaps, 2014-
Oscar Pareja, FC Dallas, 2014-
Jim Curtin, Philadelphia Union, 2014-
Greg Vanney, Toronto FC, 2014-
Jesse Marsch, New York Red Bulls, 2015-
Patrick Vieira, New York City FC, 2016-
Veljko Paunovic, Chicago Fire, 2016-
Jason Kreis, Orlando City, 2016-
Brian Schmetzer, Seattle Sounders, 2016-
Tata Martino, Atlanta United, 2017-
Wilmer Cabrera, Houston Dynamo, 2017-
Adrian Heath, Minnesota United, 2017-
Mike Petke, Real Salt Lake, 2017-
Chris Leitch, San Jose Earthquakes, 2017-
Sigi Schmid, LA Galaxy, 2017-
Bob Bradley, LAFC, 2018-
Remi Garde, Montreal Impact, 2018-
Brad Friedel, New England Revolution, 2018-