New York City FC forward David Villa wins 2016 Landon Donovan MLS MVP

David Villa has spent two years making New York City FC history, and on Tuesday, he grabbed his own little piece of MLS history.

Villa was named Landon Donovan 2016 MLS MVP, following a season in which he scored 23 goals and four assists, finishing second in the MLS Golden Boot and helping lead NYCFC to their first Audi MLS Cup Playoffs berth. He was also named to the 2016 MLS Best XI.

Villa’s 41 goals in MLS regular season play are tied for most over the past two seasons.

The striker, who was the first player signed by NYCFC, becomes the first player from the club to win any MLS individual end-of-season award, including MVP. He is also the first World Cup winner and first Spaniard to win MLS MVP.

The award was voted on by MLS club management, media, and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

MVP Player Vote % Media Vote % Club Vote % Average %
David Villa (NYC) 27.63% 22.43% 27.63% 25.90%
Bradley Wright-Phillips (NY) 18.42% 22.43% 17.11% 19.32%
Sacha Kljestan (NY) 19.74% 18.69% 14.47% 17.63%
Sebastian Giovinco (TOR) 10.53% 22.43% 15.79% 16.25%
Ignacio Piatti (MTL) 9.21% 7.48% 6.41% 7.70%

All-time MLS MVP award winners

2016: David Villa – New York City FC
2015: Sebastian Giovinco – Toronto FC
2014: Robbie Keane – LA Galaxy
2013: Mike Magee – Chicago Fire
2012: Chris Wondolowski – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Dwayne De Rosario – D.C. United
2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas
2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy
2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew
2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United
2006: Christian Gomez – D.C. United
2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution
2004: Amado Guevara – New York/New Jersey MetroStars
2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards
2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy
2001: Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn
1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United
1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards
1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny