Alan Kelly - Referee of the Year
Rudy Calderon/

Alan Kelly, Frank Anderson win 2016 MLS Referee awards

Major League Soccer announced on Friday that Alan Kelly has been named 2016 MLS Referee of the Year, his second consecutive year given that award, while Frank Anderson has been named Assistant Referee of the Year.

Kelly earns his second straight MLS Referee of the Year award after taking on 23 assignments as the center official and calling more MLS matches than any other PRO referee in the 2016 season. A native of Ireland, with experience refereeing FIFA World Cup qualifiers and UEFA Champions League games, Kelly is in his third MLS season and was awarded two more games in 2016 than in the previous year.

Following his 11th season as an MLS official, Frank Anderson earns his first Assistant Referee of the Year Award after receiving more than 30 percent of votes from players, media, and club executives. An assistant referee for 23 regular season games and during the 2016 AT&T MLS All-Star Game, Anderson has been FIFA Assistant Referee since 2012, and he also served as a linesman for the Toronto 2015 Pan and Parapan American Games Finals.

These two awards were voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management. The other two finalists for Referee of the Year were Baldomero Toledo and Jair Marrufo. The other two finalists for Assistant Referee of the Year were Ian Anderson and Eric Boria.

  Player Vote Media Vote Club Vote Average
Alan Kelly 58.46% 54.00% 76.32% 62.93%
Jair Marrufo 26.92% 26.00% 13.16% 22.03%
Baldomero Toledo 14.62% 20.00% 10.53% 15.05%
  Player Vote Media Vote Club Vote Average
Frank Anderson 51.90% 33.33% 36.84% 40.69%
Eric Boria 48.10% 35.56% 28.95% 37.53%
Ian Anderson 45.57% 31.11% 34.21% 36.96%

Referee of the Year Winners:
2016: Alan Kelly
2015: Alan Kelly
2014: Mark Geiger
2013: Hilario Grajeda
2012: Silviu Petrescu
2011: Mark Geiger
2010: Kevin Stott
2009: Alex Prus
2008: Jair Marrufo
2007: Brian Hall
2006: Brian Hall
2005: Brian Hall
2004: Abiodun ‘Abbey’ Okulaja
2003: Brian Hall
2002: Kevin Terry
2001: Paul Tamberino
2000: Paul Tamberino
1999: Paul Tamberino
1998: Paul Tamberino
1997: Esse Baharmast
Assistant Referee of the Year Winners:
2016: Frank Anderson
2015: Corey Parker
2014: Paul Scott
2013: Kermit Quisenberry
2012: Ian Anderson
2011: Corey Rockwell
2010: Craig Lowry
2009: Greg Barkey
2008: Kermit Quisenberry

Stay connected: The all-new, completely redesigned, FREE official MLS app is your best mobile source for scores, news, analysis and highlights. Download:  App Store  |  Google Play