Michael Bradley - Toronto FC - Claps for the fans
USA Today Sports Images

Seattle Sounders' Roman Torres and Toronto FC's Michael Bradley honored in CONCACAF Awards

A handful of MLSers were honored in the annual CONCACAF Awards, it was announced Friday.

Seattle Sounders and Panama national team defender Roman Torres and Toronto FC and US national team midfielder Michael Bradley were named to the Best XI, while Portland Timbers head coach Caleb Porter finished second in Male Coach of the Year. US national team goalkeeper Tim Howard was also named to the Best XI and Goalkeeper of the Year.

The awards, designed to honor the year’s outstanding performers and achievements in confederation-sanctioned competitions involving national teams and clubs at all levels and age categories, including FIFA World Cup matches and qualifying for both genders, were decided in an equally weighted vote among member association women’s and men’s national team coaches/captains, media and fans.

Bayer Leverkusen forward Javier Hernandez and US national team and Houston Dash midfielder Carli Lloyd were the Male and Female Players of the Year, respectively. US national team head coach Jill Ellis won Female Coach of the Year.

Here is the full awards list:

Male Player of the Year
1. Javier Hernandez (FW/MEX); Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER)
2. Bryan Ruiz (FW/CRC); Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
3. Andres Guardado (MF/MEX); PSV Eindhoven (NED)    

Female Player of the Year
1. Carli Lloyd (MF/USA); Houston Dash (USA)    
2. Alex Morgan (FW/USA); Orlando Pride (USA)    
3. Shirley Cruz (MF/CRC); Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)         

Male Goalkeeper of the Year
1. Tim Howard (GK/USA); Everton FC (ENG)
2. Jaime Penedo (GK/PAN); Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)
3. Guillermo Ochoa (GK/MEX); Malaga FC (ESP)     

Female Goalkeeper of the Year
1. Hope Solo (GK/USA); Seattle Reign FC (USA)
2. Dinnia Diaz (GK/CRC); Moravia (CRC)
3. Cecilia Santiago (GK/MEX); Apollon Limassol (CYP)

Male Coach of the Year
1. Hernan Dario Gomez (COL); Panama National Team
2. Caleb Porter (USA); Portland Timbers (USA)
3. Miguel Herrera (MEX); Club Tijuana (MEX)

Female Coach of the Year
1. Jill Ellis (USA); United States Women's National Team
2. Amelia Valverde (CRC); Costa Rica Women's National Team
3. Raiza Gutierrez (PAN); Panama Women's National Team/Panama Women's Under-20 National Team

Male Referee of the Year
1. Joel Aguilar (SLV)
2. Roberto Garcia (MEX)  
3. Fernando Guerrero (MEX)    

Female Referee of the Year
1. Kimberly Moreira (CRC)      
2. Lucila Venegas (MEX)      
3. Carol Anne Chenard (CAN)    

Goal of the Year
1. Carli Lloyd (USA); USA vs. Japan (16')
2. Paul Aguilar (MEX); Mexico vs. USA (120+2')
3. Darwin Quintero (COL); Club America vs. Walter Ferretti (13')     

Male Best XI
GK: Tim Howard (GK/USA); Everton FC (ENG)
DF: Roman Torres (DF/PAN), Seattle Sounders FC (USA); Giancarlo Gonzalez (DF/CRC), US Citta di Palermo (ITA); Hector Moreno (DF/MEX), PSV Eindhoven (NED); Miguel Layun (DF/MEX), FC Porto (POR)
MF: Andres Guardado (MF/MEX), PSV Eindhoven (NED); Michael Bradley (MF/USA), Toronto FC (CAN); Joel Campbell (MF/CRC), Arsenal FC (ENG); Jesus Corona (MF/MEX), FC Porto (POR)
FW: Javier Hernandez (FW/MEX), Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER); Bryan Ruiz (FW/CRC), Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)

Female Best XI
GK: Hope Solo (GK/USA), Seattle Reign FC (USA)
DF: Kenti Robles (DF/MEX), Atletico Madrid (ESP); Becky Sauerbrunn (DF/USA), FC Kansas City FC (USA); Lixy Rodriguez (DF/CRC), UCEM Alajuela (CRC); Diana Saenz (DF/CRC), University of South Florida (USA)
MF: Carli Lloyd (MF/USA), Houston Dash (USA); Shirley Cruz (MF/CRC), Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA); Katherine Alvarado (MF/CRC), Saprissa (CRC); Veronica Perez (MF/MEX), Canberra United FC (AUS)
FW: Alex Morgan (FW/USA), Orlando Pride (USA); Raquel Rodriguez (FW/CRC), Penn State University (USA)

Stay connected: The all-new, completely redesigned, FREE official MLS app is your best mobile source for scores, news, analysis and highlights. Download:  App Store  |  Google Play