In the Game: EA Sports announces that USWNT, other women's national teams will feature in FIFA 16

The 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup will be the largest ever, with 24 teams competing in Canada after previous editions included 16 participants in the tournament.

The women's soccer footprint is also expanding in – and to – the realm of video games, with EA Sports announcing on Thursday that the next edition of its popular soccer franchise, FIFA 16, will offer women's national teams for the first time.

Not surprisingly, the US women's national team and stars like Sydney Leroux, Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach are among the featured performers. But EA Sports announced that users in the newest version of the game will be able to choose from 12 women's national teams in all, including the US, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Sweden, England and Brazil.

"It is such an honor for women’s players and our team to be included in FIFA 16," Morgan told EA Sports. "I always wondered what it would be like to see our team in the game, and it is very cool to know that it is now a reality."

According to Bloomberg, defending Women's World Cup champions Japan were not included in the game due to licensing issues.