DC United's Bill Hamid wins Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

NEW YORK - Whoever said goalkeeping is an old man’s game?

Bill Hamid became just the third player under the age of 25 to win the Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year award on Wednesday after leading D.C. United to the best record in the Eastern Conference this season.

Hamid, 24, ranked among league leaders in shutouts (10), saves (110), goals-against average (1.13) and finished with the best save percentage (75 percent) this season, and posted career highs in wins (14) and shutouts (10).

He also earned a selection to the league’s annual Best XI team on Tuesday, the first such selection of his career.

Hamid topped Real Salt Lake’s Nick Rimando and Columbus Crew SC’s Steve Clark in the voting, conducted by MLS players, club leadership and media members.

Hamid becomes the first American goalkeeper to win the award in three years, and breaks the mold of veteran netminders who have largely ruled this individual award since it was first given in 1996.

The only players younger than Hamid to win the award are US national team regulars Tim Howard (22 in 2001) and Brad Guzan (23 in 2007). Guzan was the last player under the age of 30 to win the award before Hamid.

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:

2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel– Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd - Dallas Burn