AT&T MLS All-Star: Twitter voting opens Wednesday at noon ET

The World Cup may be over for the US and coming to a thrilling finish for the remaining eight teams, but you won't have to wait long to get another glimpse of some of your favorite international stars.

The 2014 MLS All-Star Game is coming to Portland on August 6, and in addition to the ongoing fan vote on MLSsoccer.com, fans can vote for their favorite stars on Twitter (go to the Twitter ballot) starting Wednesday!

How, you ask? Here's what you need to know: 

  • Voting is open from noon ET Wednesday, July 2 to 11:59pm ET Sunday, July 6, 2014. A short window, so make sure you get as many tweets in as you can. 
  • An eligible vote consists of the hashtag #MLSAllStar
    • AND the player's full name (first and last required) with or without a space (Example: Kekuta Manneh, or KekutaManneh);
    • OR their twitter @handle (Example: @Kekuta16).
  • A user may vote for one player in a tweet; If the user votes for multiple players in the same tweet, only the first player's name will be counted as a vote.
  • A user may only vote for players on the All-Star ballot (click here to see the online ballot).
  • There is no limit to the number of tweets a user may submit for any one player. Go nuts. 
  • Each retweet of an eligible vote counts as one vote.
  • Each Twitter vote counts equal to one online vote. 

So that's the deal. Get your Twitter game ready, because the All-Star Fan XI depends on it. If you're feeling old school, or if you just want to make that extra push for your favorite player, you can always still vote via online ballot, too.

In case you haven't seen, here are the All-Star voting leaders as of June 30:


  1. Nick Rimando (RSL)
  2. Julio Cesar (TOR)
  3. Eric Kronberg (SKC)
  4. Donovan Ricketts (POR)
  5. Jon Busch (SJ)


  1. Matt Besler (SKC)
  2. Steven Beitashour (VAN)
  3. Aurelien Collin (SKC)
  4. Omar Gonzalez (LA)
  5. DeAndre Yedlin (SEA)
  6. Seth Sinovic (SKC)
  7. Chad Marshall (CLB)


  1. Clint Dempsey (SEA)
  2. Michael Bradley (TOR)
  3. Kyle Beckerman (RSL)
  4. Graham Zusi (SKC)
  5. Tim Cahill (NY)
  6. Benny Feilhaber (SKC)
  7. Will Johnson (POR)


  1. Landon Donovan (LA)
  2. Thierry Henry (NY)
  3. Jermain Defoe (TOR)
  4. Chris Wondolowski (SJ)
  5. Robbie Keane (LA)
  6. Dom Dwyer (SKC)
  7. Obafemi Martins (SEA)

The 11th and final spot on the Fan XI will be a forward chosen by fans via the AT&T/EA SPORTS™ “More than a Vote” Challenge. Fans vote by scoring goals in EA SPORTS FIFA 14 on the Xbox One, PlayStation®4, Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system, and the PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system. The forward with the most votes – one goal equals one vote – on July 11 will occupy a forward spot on the All-Star Fan XI. The following are the results as of June 27:

  1. Obafemi Martins (SEA)
  2. Eddie Johnson (DC)
  3. Landon Donovan (LA)
  4. Thierry Henry (NY)
  5. Robbie Keane (LA)

Tune in to the 2014 AT&T MLS All-Star Game on August 6 at 9:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2, UniMás, and in Canada on TSN and RDS.


Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.