2013 Xbox Individual Fair Play Award: Darlington Nagbe, Portland Timbers

Portland Timbers' Darlington Nagbe wins 2013 Xbox Individual Fair Play Award, LA Galaxy win team award

Since his arrival in 2011, Portland Timbers attacker Darlington Nagbe has been known for his silky-smooth skills and his highlight-reel goals.

Now, he'll also be known for his sportsmanship, as Major League Soccer announced on Monday that he had won the 2013 Xbox Individual Fair Play Award.   

In his third season, former University of Akron standout started all 34 games, notched nine goals and four assists, and led the Timbers to their first-ever MLS Cup Playoff berth. In 2,848 minutes played during the regular season, Nagbe committed just eight fouls and received one yellow card and no red cards.

The other two finalists were Chicago Fire defender Jalil Anibaba and Real Salt Lake defender Nat Borchers.

The Xbox Individual Fair Play Award is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games and minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

The LA Galaxy were awarded the Xbox Team Fair Play Award after committing the third-lowest number of fouls (386) in the league in 2013. The team’s 36 cautions were the league’s lowest total, while the team’s one red card is tied for the second-lowest total in MLS. This is the Galaxy’s first time winning this award.

Xbox Fair Play Award - Individual Winners:
Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
2012:  Logan Pause – Chicago Fire
2011:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2010:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2009:  Steve Ralston – New England Revolution
2008:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2007:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006:  Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake
2005:  Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes
2004:  Eddie Pope – Metro Stars
2003:  Brian McBride – Columbus Crew
2002:  Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids
2001:  Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion
2000:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1998:  Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew
1997:  Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards

Xbox Fair Play Award -Team Winners:
2013:  LA Galaxy
2012:  New England Revolution
2011:  Portland Timbers
2010:  San Jose Earthquakes
2009:  Chicago Fire
2008:  New England Revolution
2007:  Columbus Crew
2006:  Kansas City Wizards
2005:  Kansas City Wizards
2004:  Columbus Crew
2003:  New England Revolution
2002:  Kansas City Wizards
2001:  San Jose Earthquakes
2000:  Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Columbus Crew
1998:  Kansas City Wizards
1997:  Columbus Crew