Colorado Rapids Midfielder Dillon Powers wins 2013 AT&T Rookie of the Year award

Deshorn Brown had the goals. Dillon Powers had the body of work. Either way, the Colorado Rapids were odds-on favorites to land their first-ever AT&T MLS Rookie of the Year award.

In the end, the voters opted for Powers’ year-long contribution – and impressive production – over Brown’s team-leading and rookie-best 10 goals, with all three voting categories (club, media and players) choosing the midfielder as 2013’s top first-year pro, as announced by Major League Soccer on Monday.

Powers, who ranked second on the Rapids with five goals and six assists in 29 games played, helped the club to fifth place in the Western Conference and a playoff berth. He garnered nearly 33 percent of club votes, 38 percent of media ballots and 23 percent of players picked the 22-year-old.

Brown finished second among all three voter bases after a season in which he came within one goal of Damani Ralph’s rookie record of 11 set in 2003. The Jamaican also received his first international caps during the 2013 season, and logged the third-fastest goal in MLS history after finding net after 15 seconds against Seattle on Oct. 15. 

All four finalists hailed from the Western Conference, as Seattle Sounders right back DeAndre Yedlin finished third, and LA Galaxy striker Gyasi Zardes followed in fourth. That comes after Eastern Conference players earned the award for three consecutive seasons – Austin Berry (Chicago, 2012), C.J. Sapong (Sporting KC, 2011) and Andy Najar (D.C. United, 2010) – prior to Powers taking the honors.

PLAYER % Club Votes % Media Votes % Player Votes WEIGHTED TOTAL
1. Dillon Powers (COL) 32.65 37.66 22.81 93.12
2. Deshorn Brown (COL) 24.49 32.47 18.53 75.49
3. DeAndre Yedlin (SEA) 10.2 15.58 17.12 42.9
4. Gyasi Zardes (LA) 16.33 3.9 11.2 31.43