SJ's Yallop wins MLS Coach of the Year, his second nod

NEW YORK – It’s tough to imagine any coach roaming the sidelines for the San Jose Earthquakes other than Frank Yallop.

The 48-year-old Canadian international was a fixture with the team during MLS Cup runs in 2001 and then again in 2003, and has served as the only head coach for the club since it reappeared on the MLS landscape in 2008.

Yallop added yet another accolade to his stellar career on Tuesday, earning his second MLS Coach of the Year award after leading the Quakes to their second Supporters’ Shield in franchise history. Yallop and the Earthquakes fell just two points shy of the MLS single-season points record, set by LA Galaxy in 1998 (68 points).

The Quakes reversed course to the top of the table in short order after finishing 14th last year under Yallop, who topped finalists Sporting Kansas City’s Peter Vermes and Ben Olsen of D.C. United in the voting among media, club personnel and MLS players. Yallop was a runaway favorite among all three voting groups, and garnered nearly 75 percent of the vote among club personnel.

He joins LA Galaxy boss Bruce Arena and Seattle Sounders head coach Sigi Schmid as the only coaches to win the award twice in their career. Yallop also won the award with the Quakes during their MLS Cup season in 2001.

COACH % Club Votes % Media Votes % Player Votes WEIGHTED TOTAL
1. Frank Yallop (SJ) 74.14 63.83 58.06 196.03
2. Peter Vermes (SKC) 10.34 10.61 6.45 27.40
3. Ben Olsen (DC) 3.45 6.06 16.13 25.64
4. Frank Klopas (CHI) 6.90 4.55 3.23 14.68
5. Sigi Schmid (SEA) 0 1.43 4.30 5.73