Chris Wondolowski
Getty Images

All-Star: Wondolowski, Beckham lead with five days left

NEW YORK – Less than one week remains for fans to vote for the First XI players to be named 2012 AT&T MLS All-Stars. Fans can vote for their favorite players through Monday, July 2 at 5 pm ET online at as well as by sending a player’s last name via text message to 22442. Twitter voting has closed. The All-Star First XI will be announced on Sunday, July 8 on ESPN during the Chicago Fire vs. LA Galaxy match (3 pm ET).

The players with the highest combined votes from these three voting methods will become the first 11 All-Stars – known as the All-Star First XI. The player who receives the most text votes by 5 pm ET on Monday, July 2, will automatically earn a spot among the All-Star First XI.

All-Star Head Coach Ben Olsen of D.C. United will choose the gameday roster and the starting lineup against Chelsea FC on July 25. The first marquee MLS event ever to be held at PPL Park in Chester, Pa., will be broadcast live on ESPN2, TeleFutura, and in Canada on TSN and RDS starting at 8:30 pm ET

A total of 32 All-Stars are named each year, per the collective bargaining agreement. Media, fans, players, the All-Star coach and MLS Commissioner Don Garber all contribute in the All-Star selection process.

The following are the results as of June 25:

Top 10 in Text Voting

1. Jimmy Nielsen (KC)

2. Chris Wondolowski (SJ)

3. Heath Pearce (NY)

4. Graham Zusi (KC)

5. Eric Brunner (POR)

6. Fredy Montero (SEA)

7. David Estrada (SEA)

8. Freddy Adu (PHI)

9. Milovan Mirosevic (CLB)

10. Andy Gruenebaum (CLB)           

Top 5 Forwards (online voting only)

1. Chris Wondolowski, F (SJ)

2. Thierry Henry, F (NY)

3. Robbie Keane, F (LA)

4. Fredy Montero, F (SEA)

5. Blas Pérez, F (DAL)

Top 7 Midfielders (online voting only)

1. David Beckham, M (LA)

2. Landon Donovan, M (LA)

3. Dwayne De Rosario, M (DC)

4. Marvin Chávez, M (SJ)

5. Brek Shea, M (DAL)

6. Kyle Beckerman, M (RSL)

7. Graham Zusi, M (KC)

Top 7 Defenders (online voting only)

1. Jay DeMerit, D (VAN)

2. Jámison Olave, D (RSL)

3. Geoff Cameron, D (HOU)

4. Aurélien Collin, D (KC)

5. George John, D (DAL)

6. James Riley, D (CHV)

7. Nat Borchers, D (RSL)
Top 5 Goalkeepers (online voting only)

1. Andy Gruenebaum, (CLB)

2. Dan Kennedy, (CHV)

3. Nick Rimando, (RSL)

4. Jimmy Nielsen, (KC)

5. Jon Busch, (SJ)