Toronto FC's Matt Stinson scored the winner against Red Star Belgrade.
Toronto FC

Canada name six MLSers to Olympic qual camp roster

Six MLS players headline Canada’s pre-Olympic qualifying roster, which was announced on Friday by coach Tony Fonseca.

The 23 hopefuls will head to camp early next week in Florida, where they will be put through their paces in trying to win a spot on the final 20-man squad that will kick off the Olympic qualifying tournament against El Salvador in Nashville, Tenn., on March 22.

Toronto FC and the Vancouver Whitecaps each sent two players, while one player each from the Montreal Impact and the Seattle Sounders is also in the group. 

Three players — former San Jose Earthquakes and Toronto FC defender Nana Attakora, midfielder Samuel Piette and forward Marcus Haber — have earned caps with the full national team. Matt Stinson of TFC also has experience with the senior side, having been involved in a national team camp late last year.

In addition to the six current MLSers, both Mozzi Gyorio and Carl Haworth have recently spent time with Sporting Kansas City and the Montreal Impact, respectively, in preseason training. Also, Philippe Davies spent 2011 with the Vancouver Whitecaps as a Homegrown player.

Canada will play Trinidad and Tobago in a friendly match during the camp. The date and location of the match have yet to be announced.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Adam Janssen (NSC Minnesota Stars), Michal Misiewicz (FC Edmonton), Simon Thomas (Huddersfield Town, England)

DEFENDERS (7):  Nana Attakora (unattached), Drew Beckie (University of Denver), Sherif El-Masri (Courts Young Lions, Singapore), Andrés Fresenga (Racing Club de Montevideo, Uruguay), Tristan Grant (Club Nacional, Uruguay), Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Matt Stinson (Toronto FC)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Bryce Alderson (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Kyle Bekker (Boston College), Philippe Davies (unattached), Mozesh Gyorio (unattached), Evan James (Impact Montréal), Samuel Piette (FC Metz, France), Shaun Saiko (FC Edmonton), Russell Teibert ( Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Lucas Cavallini (Club Nacional, Uruguay)

FORWARDS (4): Marcus Haber (St. Johnstone, Scotland), Carl Haworth (unattached), Kyle Porter (FC Edmonton), Babayele Sodade (Seattle Sounders)



Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.