Wizards announce protected list for 2004 expansion draft

Kansas City Wizards General Manager Curt Johnson announced today the team's protected and unprotected lists in advance of the 2004 MLS Expansion Draft that will take place on Friday, November 19th at 3:00 p.m. CT. The draft will be televised live on ESPNEWS.

The following players are protected, and will not be available to be selected in Friday's Expansion Draft:

Davy Arnaud, Jose Luis Burciaga Jr., Jimmy Conrad, Nick Garcia, Diego Gutierrez, Jack Jewsbury, Chris Klein, Bo Oshoniyi, Shavar Thomas, Diego Walsh, Josh Wolff, Kerry Zavagnin, Justin Detter (developmental player), Taylor Graham (developmental player), Will Hesmer (developmental player), Brian Roberts (developmental player), Khari Stephenson (developmental player)

The following players are unprotected, and will be available to be selected in Friday's Expansion Draft:
Francisco Gomez, Tony Meola, Preki, Igor Simutenkov, Matt Taylor, Alex Zotinca

Wizards defender Vuk Rasovic will retire and will not be available for selection in Friday's draft.

The 2004 MLS Expansion Draft will consist of 10 rounds with CD Chivas USA picking first followed in each round by Real Salt Lake. A team may lose no more than three players from its unprotected list and each time a player is selected, that team can remove a player from the unprotected list and add them to their protected list.