Tony Sanneh

Sanneh nets Goal of the Week honor

NEW YORK - Tony Sanneh's game-winning goal in the Columbus Crew's 1-0 victory over the host San Jose Earthquakes on Wednesday, September 8 was voted as the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Week for the week ending September 12, 2004 (Week 24). The goal was Sanneh's first in only his second game since his return to MLS after spending the last six years in playing in Germany.

The Goal of the Week winner is determined from a selection of finalists through a fan vote conducted on the Sierra Mist Goal of the Week section of Major League Soccer's official web site:

After 90 minutes of scoreless play, it appeared that each team would walk away with a point apiece. However, Sanneh scored a minute into second-half stoppage time off a Simon Elliott free kick to take the victory. Elliott's free kick from the right side into the box dropped near the six-yard box and Sanneh was able to get past his mark to latch on and send a one-time shot into the right corner to snap a 459-minute shutout streak for the Earthquakes defense, the longest in the League this year. The veteran U.S. international's last MLS goal prior to Wednesday was on June 3, 1998 when as a member of D.C. United he also scored against San Jose at Spartan Stadium - the longest gap between goals scored in League history (6yrs, 97 days).

Sanneh's goal (37 percent of the vote) was selected ahead of Ronnie Ekelund's of the San Jose Earthquakes (19 percent) and Alecko Eskandarian's of D.C. United (18 percent). Goals by the New England Revolution's Pat Noonan and United's Freddy Adu also received votes.

Streaming video highlights and goals from MLS games are available for viewing every weekend on just hours after the conclusion of the final match of the weekend. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Week winner is announced the following Wednesday.

At the end of the regular season, each of the 29 Goal of the Week winners selected throughout the season will be featured in voting for the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Year, an award presented annually to the author of the season's most spectacular scoring play. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Year award will be announced in the days leading up to MLS Cup 2004.

Week 1: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 2: Ronald Cerritos (D.C. United)
Week 3: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 4: Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 5: Joe Franchino (New England Revolution)
Week 6: Cornell Glen (MetroStars)
Week 7: Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
Week 8: Freddy Adu (D.C. United)
Week 9: John Wolyniec (MetroStars)
Week 10: Damani Ralph (Chicago Fire)
Week 11: Jeff Agoos (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 12: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 13: Jovan Kirovski (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 14: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 15: Steve Ralston (New England Revolution)
Week 16: Brian Ching (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 17: Jack Jewsbury (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 18: Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
Week 19: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 20: Matt Crawford (Colorado Rapids)
Week 21: Ross Paule (Columbus Crew)
Week 22: Ronnie O'Brien (Dallas Burn)
Week 23: Josh Wolff (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 24: Tony Sanneh (Columbus Crew)

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.