Quakes to don retro jerseys Aug. 21

San Jose, Calif. - The San Jose Earthquakes announced today that they will host an Earthquakes Thirty-Year Celebration Night on Saturday, Aug. 21 with an Earthquakes NASL Legends game at 5:00 p.m. PT followed by the Quakes wearing 1974 NASL "retro" jerseys as they take on the Dallas Burn in a Western Conference showdown at 7:00 p.m. PT. The first 7,500 fans will receive Earthquakes 2004 team t-shirts courtesy of Orchard Supply Hardware.

Over 30 former NASL Earthquakes will be back in San Jose for the legends game and festivities, including stars such as Paul Child, Gabbo Gavric, Johnny Moore and Fernando Clavijo. Starting at 5:00 p.m. PT, the Earthquakes NASL Legends will play a 40-minute match at Spartan Stadium prior to the Quakes vs. Dallas Burn game. On Friday, Aug. 20, the Earthquakes NASL players will participate in an open training session at 2:30 p.m. PT at the San Jose State University practice fields, followed by a kick-off party at the Britannia Arms in downtown. Prior to the practice, many of the Earthquakes NASL Legends will attend the Soccer Silicon Valley Rally at Caesar Chavez Park in San Jose from 12-1:00 p.m. PT to celebrate the past, present and future of the game in the Bay Area.

For the first time since MLS formed in 1996, the Earthquakes will wear the red, "retro" jerseys of the 1974 NASL Earthquakes as the club recognizes the NASL team that played from 1974-1984 and 30 years of professional soccer in San Jose.

Tickets for the August 21 match against the Burn and the Earthquakes NASL Legends game can be purchased by visiting the Earthquakes Ticket Office at 100 North Almaden Ave. in downtown San Jose, by logging on to, or by calling Ticketmaster at 408-998-TIXS, 415-421-TIXS, 510-625-TIXS, 925-685-TIXS, or by visiting any Ticketmaster outlet. For groups of 15 or more, call 408-985-GOAL.

Earthquakes NASL Legends Game Roster
Laurie Calloway (1974-78)
Paul Child (1974-78)
Fernando Clavijo (1983-84)
Chris Dangerfield (1982-84)
Steve David (1980-81)
Geoff Davies (1977)
Dave Dufty (1975)
Gary Etherington (1981-82)
Derek Evans (1980-82)
Gabbo Gavric (1974-77)
Tim Hanley (1981-84)
Mani Hernandez (1974-76)
Mike Hunter (1981-84)
Godfrey Ingram (1982-84)
Mike Ivanow (1974-76)
Charlie Kadupski (1979)
Davey Kemp (1974-78)
Mike Messaros (1974)
Johnny Moore (1974-77)
Ilija Mitic (1975-78)
Easy Perez (1979-81)
Lalo Perez (1974)
Archie Robostoof (1974-75)
Steve Ryan (1979-81)
Derek Sanderson (1982-83)
Joe Silviera (1980-81)
Mike Simon (1979-82)
John Smillie (1977-78)
Terry Weekes (1976)
Art Welch (1974-77)
Jim Zylker (1975-76)

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.