Quakes announce unprotected list

The San Jose Earthquakes announced today their list of protected and unprotected players for the upcoming Major League Soccer Expansion Draft involving the two new MLS entrants, Real Salt Lake and CD Chivas USA. The 10-round draft takes place on Friday, Nov. 19 at 1:00 p.m. PT and will televised live on ESPNEWS. The Quakes protected 12 senior roster players and left seven unprotected for the draft. The Quakes three Project-40 players, Arturo Alvarez, Ryan Cochrane and Steve Cronin, are not eligible for the draft.

Current teams can only lose a maximum of three players in the Expansion Draft. Also, once a player has been claimed from a current team's non-protected roster, that same team may move a player from its non-protected roster to its protected roster. The rights to unprotected players who are not selected by Real Salt Lake or CD Chivas USA in the Expansion Draft will be retained by their original clubs.

Earthquakes -- Jeff Agoos -- DF -- 9
Earthquakes -- Chris Brown -- F/M -- 6
Earthquakes -- Jon Conway -- GK -- 5
Earthquakes -- Ronnie Ekelund -- MF -- 4 -- SI
Earthquakes -- Wes Hart -- DF -- 5
Earthquakes -- Chris Roner -- MF -- 3
Earthquakes -- Jamil Walker -- FW -- 2