Forty-eight players chosen in the 2005 MLS Supplemental Draft

NEW YORK - Forty-eight players were selected today in the 2005 Major League Soccer Supplemental Draft held via teleconference call from League headquarters on Friday. The four-round Supplemental Draft allowed MLS clubs to continue to add to their rosters, which this year have been expanded to incorporate an all-time high of 28 players (18 Senior Roster players and 10 Developmental Roster players).

With the first selection, Real Salt Lake drafted midfielder Steve Rhyne from Clemson University, followed by Club Deportivo Chivas USA, which used its first selection on a local product - goalkeeper Javier Barragan from Cal State Dominguez Hills. Barragan was one of eight goalkeepers selected by seven different teams on the day. FC Dallas led all teams with six selections, followed by the Columbus Crew and Los Angeles Galaxy which selected five players.

The 2005 MLS SuperDraft, which was traditionally a six-round draft, consisted of four rounds in 2005 with the former Fifth and Sixth Rounds of the SuperDraft becoming the First and Second Rounds of the Supplemental Draft. Similar to the SuperDraft, the Supplemental Draft order was initially determined by reverse order of finish in 2004 with the exception of Real Salt Lake and CD Chivas USA, the League's 2005 expansion teams which hadh the top two selections in each round.


CD Chivas USA (4): GK Javier Barragan, M Helmis Matute, M Mike Muñoz, GK Dan Kennedy

Chicago Fire (4): FW Justin Cook, GK David Mahoney, M Chris Karcz, D Hollis Ryan Donalson

Colorado Rapids (3): FW Sasha Gotsmanov, FW Eugene Sepuya, D Dan Gargan

Columbus Crew (5): D Matt Oliver, GK Bill Gaudette, M Eric Vasquez, D Ryan Kelly, F Chris Lee

FC Dallas (6): M Kevin Wilson, F Abe Thompson, D Aaron Pitchkolan, D Drew Cavanagh, D Chris Schwarze, M/F Sammy Tamporello

D.C. United (3): FW Matthew Nickell, GK Andrew Terris, M Shawn Kuykendall

Kansas City Wizards (3): FW Edwin Ruiz, M Doug Lascody, D Ryan Caugherty

Los Angeles Galaxy (5): DF Benjamin Benditson, FW Drew McAthy, D Matt Kovar, FW Ryan Shaw, FW Jeremiah Gallegos

MetroStars (3): D Jason Hernandez, GK Pat Hannigan, FW Usiel Vasquez

New England Revolution (4): FW Jamie Holmes, FW Ryan Latham, M Easton Wilson, D Jeff Larentowicz

Real Salt Lake (4): MF Steven Rhyne, D Michael Lookingland, GK Noah Palmer, D Cameron Knowles

San Jose Earthquakes (4): D Brett Rodriguez, GK Robby Fulton, D Noah Merl, M Chris Wondolowski

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.