Taylor Twellman - US men's national team - National Soccer Hall of Fame

The eligible 2020 candidates for induction to the National Soccer Hall of Fame in the "Veteran" and "Builder" categories have been announced, with a total of nine new names added to those eligible lists.

These categories are separate from the National Soccer Hall of Fame "Player" ballot which was previously released and features a list of 42 names.

2020 Veteran Ballot

New players on the Veteran ballot this year include US men's national team alumni Frank Klopas (1988-95) and Taylor Twellman (2002-08), MLS Best XI selection Marco Etcheverry (1996, '97, '98, '99); and All-MISL first-team selection Slavisa "Steve" Zungul (1985, '86, '87).

According to National Soccer Hall of Fame's criteria, in order to be eligible for election as a Veteran, an individual must be a retired player for more than 10 full calendar years and have either: 1.) Played in at least 20 full international games for the US (if played prior to 1990, the game requirement is reduced to 10 games) or 2.) Played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and named to a postseason league All-Star team at least once, or 3.) Played at least five seasons in the MISL between 1984-1992 and been named a postseason league All-Star at least once.

Veteran Ballot

  • Chris Armas
  • John Doyle
  • Marco Etcheverry
  • Mary Harvey
  • Chris Henderson
  • Frank Klopas
  • Shep Messing
  • Tiffany Roberts
  • Taylor Twellman (first year of eligibility)
  • Greg Vanney
  • Tisha Venturini-Hoch
  • Slavisa "Steve" Zungul

2020 Builder Ballot

Among the new faces on the Builder side are MLS President and Deputy Commissioner Mark Abbott, as well as New England Revolution operator-investor Robert Kraft, one of the league's founding members.

The 2020 Builder ballot includes ten individuals selected by a screening committee and those who can vote: U.S. Soccer Director of Officials, MLS and NWSL management representatives, MLS Commissioner, NWSL Executive Director, U.S. Soccer Secretary General, U.S. Soccer President, and all Hall of Famers.

Builder Ballot

  • Mark Abbott
  • Esse Baharmast
  • Joe Cummings
  • Richard Groff
  • Sandra Hunt
  • Robert Kraft
  • Francisco Marcos
  • Thom Meredith
  • Kevin Payne
  • Jim Trecker