There will be 12 teams competing for the Copa America title next summer in Brazil, but the US men's national team will not be one of them.

CONMEBOL announced the official participants on Friday and Qatar and Japan will join South American countries Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.'s Grant Wahl reported on April 4 that the USMNT had been invited to the tournament, citing a U.S. Soccer source.

The last time the United States were invited to a Copa America tournament in South America came in 2007 in Venezuela where Bob Bradley’s squad didn’t advance past the group stage.

The United States hosted the Copa America Centenario two years ago, in celebration of 100 years of CONMEBOL and Copa America, and reached the semifinal round.

Mexico, invited to every Copa America since 1993, was also not invited to next year's tournament.