Keegan Rosenberry - Philadelphia Union - Fair Play Award

Philadelphia Union defender Keegan Rosenberry won the 2016 MLS Individual Fair Play award on Friday, and Columbus Crew SC won the MLS Team Fair Play award, their fifth all-time.

During his breakout rookie season with the Union, Rosenberry became the lone field player in 2016 and the fourth rookie field player in league history to appear in every minute of every regular season game. A 2016 MLS All-Star, Rosenberry saw more time on the field than any non-goalkeeper since 2013, and he logged all 3,060 minutes possible without ever receiving a yellow card.

As an outside back, Rosenberry committed the second fewest fouls (13) by any player appearing in all 34 games, and he ranks among the league’s top 20 in both tackles (78) and interceptions (88). Also dynamic on the attack with the sixth most crosses in open play, Rosenberry scored two goals and contributed two assists in his first professional season.

Both Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC) and Chris Tierney (New England Revolution) were also finalists for the award, which utilizes subjective evaluations on sportsmanlike behavior, as well as objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games and minutes played to select the winner.

For a record fifth time in the award’s 20-year history, Columbus Crew SC earns the Team Fair Play Award after accumulating the fewest yellow cards (33) and committing the fewest fouls (311) during the 2016 regular season.

MLS selects the Team Fair Play Award winner based on the fewest regular season disciplinary points, which are derived by adding the points assigned to fouls committed (3 points per), yellow cards (3 points per), red cards (7 point per) and Supplemental Points (8 points per each disciplinary action taken). Columbus Crew SC finished the season with 456 disciplinary points (13.41/game), Seattle Sounders FC was second (562; 16.5) and Toronto FC was third (579; 17.02).

Fair Play Award - Individual Winners:
2016: Keegan Rosenberry - Philadelphia Union
2015: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
2014: Michael Parkhurst – Columbus Crew SC
2013: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
2012:  Logan Pause – Chicago Fire
2011:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2010:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2009:  Steve Ralston – New England Revolution
2008:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2007:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006:  Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake
2005:  Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes
2004:  Eddie Pope – MetroStars
2003:  Brian McBride – Columbus Crew
2002:  Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids
2001:  Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion
2000:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1998:  Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew
1997:  Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards

Fair Play Award -Team Winners:
2016: Columbus Crew SC 2015:  Philadelphia Union
2014:  Philadelphia Union
2013:  LA Galaxy
2012:  New England Revolution
2011:  Portland Timbers
2010:  San Jose Earthquakes
2009:  Chicago Fire
2008:  New England Revolution
2007:  Columbus Crew
2006:  Kansas City Wizards
2005:  Kansas City Wizards
2004:  Columbus Crew
2003:  New England Revolution
2002:  Kansas City Wizards
2001:  San Jose Earthquakes
2000:  Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Columbus Crew
1998:  Kansas City Wizards
1997:  Columbus Crew